We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights as a 25th anniversary celebration and we really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is in a beautiful building and is very conveniently located for the main museums, the Concertgebouw and most places. The 'superior' room was a decent size and stylishly furnished, though it was exceptionally dark in the evenings (the lighting was pretty poor, which is my only complaint about the hotel..). The young staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and they made us feel welcome and at home throughout our stay. Amsterdam is a gorgeous city and I hope to return many more times. If I do, I would be delighted to stay at this hotel again. I recommend it very highly indeed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank easti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    204
    77
    35
    27
See reviews for
64
207
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, stylish hotel, great location, jazz in the courtyard on a Sunday afternoon! Loved the bar area, the staff are all students, very friendly. The rooms well designed and comfortable .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerningdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last saturday and we really enjoyed every minute of it.
The rooms where really beautiful and the service from the moment you walk in is great!
Don't forget to visit the bar and the restaurant….there is a great atmosphere there and you feel that the staff is going all the way to make your stay unforgettable.
Next time we visit Amsterdam we are sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a great stay. The staff was attentive and helpful with many requests. A gentleman named Kuhn was always fantastic and solved some small issues for me initially.

My only complaints are 1) the rooms are really, really dark. They're just not lit well and 2) There are virtually no vegan or vegetarian options at their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeckSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The area is beautiful, an elegant quarter 5 minutes off the Rejiksmuseum. The stunning facade is there waiting for you, beautifully lightened at night so the website promise is kept. The inside is weird as what is left of the historical building is nice but the overall restyling is odd. Too dark, style not defined. My room was large, comfortable bed, equipped bathroom (spicy toiletries which I personally dislike). Room was too dark and lights were scattered around the room with no possibility to control Them centrally from the bed. Breakfast hall is dull (lonely planet travel guide set too high expectation..)
and food was not what you expect from a 4 star. I know Amsterdam and I would say you can find better hotels in this range. It is not all about facade!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The College Hotel is a beautiful hotel. When you walk in you are taken with the design from both the outside and the inside. That said, the staff is a little inexperienced and therefore the service isn't the best. The rooms are very nice and the deep soaking tubs are really amazing. But the rooms are dark - so if you want to put on any makeup bring extra lighting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekkeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel seems a little out of town but this is actually in a really cool location; very near the main museums, away from the touristy centre and in the young, professional area of town so lots of great cafes, bars and nightlife. Hotel staff are trainees so they are a little less confident than you would expect of staff at a hotel of this standard, but otherwise the service is all quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing