We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very charming and cozy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #139 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very charming and cozy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended by a Dutch friend who lives in Amsterdam, so I reserved this hotel without a doubt.
Since this hotel is located in the middle of town, it was a bit hard to find a parking spot and forgot to reserve a parking in their facility.
A receptionist at the front desk was helpful and friendly, when my hubby left to park the car, she was so lovely to carry one of my suitcases.
I have asked regarding the restaurants and she was most helpful.
In the end, we have decided to dine in their restaurant which showed that was a good decision.
Juan is the name of our waiter of the night and he was so lovely, polite and served us with a big smile and the best service that anyone dream of.
We were so amazed by the quality of each dish and the effort that they have put.
It was 4 courses with 3 amuse bouches which was too much for me but my hubby was very happy:)
For the price that you pay, you will get much more that, it was a haute cuisine and experimental dish decorated beautifully!
I do recommend this hotel and the restaurant to everyone who is going to visit Amsterdam.
I certainly will go back to this charming hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    222
    81
    36
    28
See reviews for
67
223
23
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location near all the museums . Very stylish hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff .
Unfortunately the restaurant lets it down , pretentious [ waiters in white gloves ] trying too hard to serve Haute Cuisine , which it was far from it . All too complicated and the result very bland .
But I would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a great hotel and the service was outstanding. Loved my little sitting room, gave the room a (very) mini suite feel to it. I was in Amsterdam for work however and the hotel and it's amenities were great for that but I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for something a bit more romantic.

Food in the restaurant was outstanding and the drinks in the busy bar were great too.

The only downside was the noise every night from the new tram line being put down between 6pm and 8am! The hotel put a complimentary set of earplugs in the room to deal with this and they were indeed very essential!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betticrockatt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It appears the College Hotel has become too chic and now does not have to pay attention to details. The location is great. The lobby is very well done. The staff is very polite. The bar has a special upscale feel to it. (We did not eat at the restaurant.) But things changed when we entered our room #202. The carpet was dirty. The area around the sink had not been cleaned. There was a very low power bulb over the sink and mirror making it impossible to use to put on makeup. The drain on the sink was not working. There was hair in the shower. The shower door was broken. The cold water knob in the shower could be turned 360 degrees around. Since we were staying two nights we informed the front desk staff of these issues as we departed for a day of sightseeing. Upon our return the only item repaired was the non-working sink drain. There was no indication or note from the Hotel that the other items would take longer to repair and that they apologize for the disappointment.
It was one thing to have problems, it is far worst not to address them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MemoryMaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for 2 days during my Eurotrip and decided to randomly stay in hotels throughout Europe. I found this College Hotel and it was perfectly located in the center of Amsterdam.
The hotel ambiance was very castle like, medieval looking, but the decor and the amenities were all modern and up to date... I couldn't help but see all the staff that were very young and ambitious and began to understand it was a hotel for college students preparing learn the trade and venture into the big world. Very hospitable and the rooms were clean and just perfect.

Room Tip: Don't forget to rent the scooters (Vespas) from the hotel... good way to get around in Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUSQUARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Opulent hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. Wonderfully decorated rooms. Lots of character. One to visit and form your own opinion. Definitely the wow factor when you step into the room. Also very quiet if a good nights sleep is a must for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ultanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Funky. cool. Funky. cool. Great food, nice bar, amazing building and lovely rooms but bar service slow / breakfast service dreadful (scary female maitre d'). Much better than the Pullitzer. Book your taxi early as service slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie-EMPS-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing