We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #133 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for 2 days during my Eurotrip and decided to randomly stay in hotels throughout Europe. I found this College Hotel and it was perfectly located in the center of Amsterdam.
The hotel ambiance was very castle like, medieval looking, but the decor and the amenities were all modern and up to date... I couldn't help but see all the staff that were very young and ambitious and began to understand it was a hotel for college students preparing learn the trade and venture into the big world. Very hospitable and the rooms were clean and just perfect.

Room Tip: Don't forget to rent the scooters (Vespas) from the hotel... good way to get around in Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUSQUARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    209
    78
    36
    27
See reviews for
66
216
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Opulent hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. Wonderfully decorated rooms. Lots of character. One to visit and form your own opinion. Definitely the wow factor when you step into the room. Also very quiet if a good nights sleep is a must for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ultanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Funky. cool. Funky. cool. Great food, nice bar, amazing building and lovely rooms but bar service slow / breakfast service dreadful (scary female maitre d'). Much better than the Pullitzer. Book your taxi early as service slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie-EMPS-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay at the College Hotel was good. The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Great staff! Location is good, just steps away is a tram stop. Not many places to eat close to the hotel though. The building is quite old and certain areas have an odd smell that may or may not annoy some people. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On Sunday, October 13, 2013 we visited the College Hotel to have a drink and a nice dinner. The service in the bar was very poor. No attention at all, so we went straight to the restaurant. We had to wait a little, but then we were welcomed by a very friendly young lady who helped us with our coats and showed us to the table. We did understand that students are trained at this hotel and overall the service was pleasant. The hotel and public area's are in need of a lot of maintenance. Many wood parts were chipped, floors dirty, curtains unhooked at the rails, damaged interior parts etc. A real shame as the interior is so beautifull!! The food was of a good standard at very reasonable prices. The music in the restaurant was of a poor quality. If this hotel would be better managed then it would be a great place to stay, to wine and dine etc.. We were very disappointed by the lack of knowledge of the English language by many staff members!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here last week on business.
As others have said there are lots of staff but most of them do not engage.
Breakfast is poor, coffee is good!
The person who appeared to be the manager at breakfast was extremely gruff, the staff member doing the work was fine but totally vacant. Like she was in a daze.
I bought a box of chocolates in Duty Free on the way over, they were wrapped in their own packaging and they were in a plastic bag, in my suitcase. My suitcase was closed but not zipped. Somehow a mouse managed to get in and nibble the box of chocolates. When I mentioned it to the staff that morning they were not too bothered so I guess they have heard this before.
The duvets on the beds are positioned between two sheets so when you wake up in the morning, everything has moved and you are touching the duvet, not very pleasant or hygenic. A little unusual I would say. I certainly have never seen a duvet simply positioned between two open sheets.
I paid 289Eur per night, thank goodness I was not paying the bill myself as this was in no way worth that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrovalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

College hotel is a boutique with very unique interiors. The rooms are big and nice and very different from the normal hotels worldwide. It is an easy 15 min walk to the bars and restaurants area. i would strongly recommend this hotel as my stay for was very good. the service is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddham1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing