We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good and Funky. cool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The College Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The College Hotel
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good and Funky. cool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Funky. cool. Funky. cool. Great food, nice bar, amazing building and lovely rooms but bar service slow / breakfast service dreadful (scary female maitre d'). Much better than the Pullitzer. Book your taxi early as service slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie-EMPS-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    204
    77
    35
    27
See reviews for
64
207
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay at the College Hotel was good. The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Great staff! Location is good, just steps away is a tram stop. Not many places to eat close to the hotel though. The building is quite old and certain areas have an odd smell that may or may not annoy some people. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On Sunday, October 13, 2013 we visited the College Hotel to have a drink and a nice dinner. The service in the bar was very poor. No attention at all, so we went straight to the restaurant. We had to wait a little, but then we were welcomed by a very friendly young lady who helped us with our coats and showed us to the table. We did understand that students are trained at this hotel and overall the service was pleasant. The hotel and public area's are in need of a lot of maintenance. Many wood parts were chipped, floors dirty, curtains unhooked at the rails, damaged interior parts etc. A real shame as the interior is so beautifull!! The food was of a good standard at very reasonable prices. The music in the restaurant was of a poor quality. If this hotel would be better managed then it would be a great place to stay, to wine and dine etc.. We were very disappointed by the lack of knowledge of the English language by many staff members!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here last week on business.
As others have said there are lots of staff but most of them do not engage.
Breakfast is poor, coffee is good!
The person who appeared to be the manager at breakfast was extremely gruff, the staff member doing the work was fine but totally vacant. Like she was in a daze.
I bought a box of chocolates in Duty Free on the way over, they were wrapped in their own packaging and they were in a plastic bag, in my suitcase. My suitcase was closed but not zipped. Somehow a mouse managed to get in and nibble the box of chocolates. When I mentioned it to the staff that morning they were not too bothered so I guess they have heard this before.
The duvets on the beds are positioned between two sheets so when you wake up in the morning, everything has moved and you are touching the duvet, not very pleasant or hygenic. A little unusual I would say. I certainly have never seen a duvet simply positioned between two open sheets.
I paid 289Eur per night, thank goodness I was not paying the bill myself as this was in no way worth that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrovalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

College hotel is a boutique with very unique interiors. The rooms are big and nice and very different from the normal hotels worldwide. It is an easy 15 min walk to the bars and restaurants area. i would strongly recommend this hotel as my stay for was very good. the service is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddham1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent one night here in late August with work, hosting a group of 10 other guests. Was a nice change from the usual non-descript Intercontinental, Hilton or Westin, in what I assume used to be an old school or the like. It's a hotel that provides students with an opportunity to learn the hotelier trade, and it shows to a degree, but not in anyway that negatively affected my stay. In many ways, it actually made for a more interesting experience.

The room I stayed in was nice, although there was no writing desk and the bed was on a raised platform. Note-to-self - don't get up in the middle of the night with the lights off, and head to the bathroom forgetting there's a step down from the bed.

Was overall very good though, and would stay again, for business and/or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaguraCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The College Hotel. The service was mostly good, although at times I discovered a certain lack of interest from the staff on Reception .
The room was comfortable , although a little dark , as were the corridors .
Our main complaint was that the lift was out of service for most of our stay and we were on the top ( ?3rd) floor and we had to carry our bags up to the room . I felt that help should have been offered.
On the night that we arrived we walked in to The restaurant and asked to eat ( without having booked ) and although they were fully booked they managed to accommodae us.The food was very good as was the setting and service.
However , on the second night , when we had friends joining us , I asked at Reception for a table in the Restaurant for 4 and they were unable to seat us and were not very helpful about finding a local alternative.
The Hotel is well located and we were able to find parking nearby .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Hotel

Property: The College Hotel
Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing