We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nicely does it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #104 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nicely does it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thi hotel is far better on the inside than it appears.
The staff were very helpful and friendly able and willing to offer help and advice for a wide range of topics.
Facilities were good and room was clean and tidy.
Very well positioned for us right in the museum quarter making a wealth of attractions within easy walking distance.
Nice and quiet and in a really quite nice part of town.
We would definitely make this our default Amsterdam hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the canal, it was nice to sit and watch the world cycle by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
thank you for your nice words about NH Museum Quarter. You are certainly welcome again!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    789
    247
    68
    28
See reviews for
220
793
73
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and i just came from a 4-night stay in this hotel in Amsterdam..it's very near to get a bus for the City Centre and the rooms are very nice and pleasant, ours was a very modern one..staff are very friendly..recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your nice words about our hotel. We hope we can welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
254 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my third visit to Amsterdam, and finding this hotel near the Rijksmuseum was very convenient ( the Museum was under restauration in 2010 )and is only a 7-10 minute walk to get there and it is only about 50 meters to the trámite 16 or 24 that gets you to the city center. There are not stairs to get into the hotel, but 4 to get to the front desk, but they have this tiny "elevator" for wheelchairs and huge suitcases. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they even helped us to find a post office. You need your key to activate the main elevators which gives you this sense of security. The rooms on the fifth floors are spacious, clean with a nice city view. Beds are very comfortable, bathroom very clean with nice toiliteries, but there is not enough room to hang your clothes. There is a coffee maker and provide you with tea, cream and sugar. Washing- dryer machines on the basement. Breakfast costs 20 euro per person .

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without kettlers. Rooms with city view are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. indeed, we are very proud of our location near the Rijksmuseum, and are very happy to read you did too. Besides that, it is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to seeing you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Musuem Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Perfect location within walking distance of the museums, art galleries, etc. Across the adjacent canal are some very good restaurants with a variety of cuisines.
Really good staff and very nice facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read your enjoyed your stay with us. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We traveled by local bus from airport to near hotel for 5 euros each. Few minutes walk to hotel from bus stop. OK as long as it is not raining and it wasn't ! The hotel reception were pleasant and offered varied rooms. We settled on 5th fllor room on side which are quieter. Modern well maintained room with 2 comfortable firm beds. Hotel just 5 min walk to Rijks museum, a must see.It is then only a further 20 min walk to Dam square. Only meals taken were breakfasts and these were good, consisting of the usual buffet items, but not much on the warm side. Very well presented. The hotel was clean and generally quiet, this was during the week,so do not know what it might be like at weekends. Would stay again if in Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterw707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Maybe during the weekend?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have visited Amsterdam 7 times. I can safely say that I have been to many hotels. This one was chosen because it is close to Museums and I love them. This time around I was with our toddler and we did not have a great stay.

5* staff, but the property is really old. The superior room was spacious yet it had old carpets with fungus growing in corners (can't be reached by vacuum), torn curtains and worst despite the insulation the traffic noise easily made in the room. Police vehicles at least 5 per day passed at random hours disturbing toddler and our sleep.

The property was chockablock full with busses full of elderly crowd pouring in and out. It seems to be a good option for museum lovers but I pity how many are able to sleep properly at night.

A good point was that it had self-laundry room so our toddler clothes were always clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sn1p3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. First of all let me apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Our goal is to make every stay a great stay, and we are dissapointed if we failed. The carpet in the hotel is 12 years old. We try very hard to keep it as clean and tidy as we can, but unfortunately some staines we cannot get out anymore. After changing the beds and tv;s in the hotel the last weeks, one of our future project will be changing the carpets.

I can imagine your toddler has a hard time sleeping whilst the police are passing by with sirenes. Fortunately this does not happen on a daily basis. Our rooms which are facing the courtyard are very quiet. So hopefully we can welcome you again and give you the great experience we aim for with every guest.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great location to museums and view of the canal. Needs TV update and better bedding. Pillows too small and needed a comforter that was larger and warmer.
Front desk was extremely helpful when we needed the safe and TV fixed. The breakfast was good but too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Although it will not change the experience you had in our hotel, I am very happy to announce we recived new tv's and beds for the hotel the last 3 weeks. I hope you will come back to visit us again and enjoy the new bed and tv. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, NHHotels, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing