We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveler rating
676
1,001
333
99
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
1,001
333
99
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location van gogh museum tram stop floor to ceiling windows street market major museums albert cuyp market heineken experience good size minute walk nice hotel canal view concert hall quiet location spacious room walking distance corner room
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April with my 77 year old mum. Room was extremely spacious, very clean and comfortable. Large window overlooking the canals and houses. It was an easy 5 minute walk to the museums and transport to the city easily accessible either just up from the hotel or near the museums. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Dinner was excellent even if our choice was limited due to Kings Day celebrations that left a lot of places closed and our restaurant very very busy! The staff were very attentive and helpful. We were on the 6th floor, and as mentioned, we were there on Kings Day which is just one very long, large, noisy street party that encompasses the entire city area :). We had no noise after about 9.30 on the Saturday night, even with a pub just over the canal, and party boats going up and down the canal.

Perhaps my only criticism is that the shower is in a very high bath. My poor 77 yr old very short mum was not able to physically get into the bath at all. Something to consider when travelling with older people.

Otherwise good value for money and an excellent position.

Room tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the canal to see Amsterdam life passing by
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Did you enjoy the celebration of Kings day in Amsterdam? We are very happy to read you had a great time in Amsterdam. I can inagine the bathtub might be difficult to use for elderly people, and I apologize for that. We have one room in the hotel which a easier accesible shower. In case you will come and visit us again, please feel free to check if this room is available.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel is close to museums and in quiet, residential area....no problems with noise. We loved the big windows that open up and let the breeze in...we had nice view of the canal and a church. We found a good Italian deli with seating and had a good, reasonably priced dinner.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Lillibeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Really nice hotel in quiet location, despite being in a busy area. The major museums are 5 minutes walk away. Staff are pleasant. Only criticism is the breakfast which was 20 euros per person - a crazy price. Suggest you want right out of hotel, then left over bridge - a 100m or so there is a great bakery/cafe.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your noce review on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read you have a great time in our hotel and Amsterdam. Thank you for your remark about our breakfast. In case you are a small eater, there are several other option in the surroundings.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel was relatively easy to find from Schiphol airport with a map. As taxis are fairly pricey at 40-50 euros, we followed the sign for buses and at stop B11, to the right of the IAMSTERDAM statue, caught the 197 bus to the Museumplein for 5 euros each. It actually stops outside the Concert-gebouw on Van Baerlestraat so you walk down the street, turning left into Nicolaas Maesstraat which takes you directly to the hotel which is on the corner of Nicolaas Maesstraat and Hobbemakade. As rain threatened on our return journey, we booked the Hotel Shuttlebus through reception which was 17 euros each.

I had informed the hotel that we were visiting Amsterdam to celebrate my husband's birthday, so it was a lovely surprise to receive a complimentary upgrade to a superior canal-view room. Facilities included iron, ironing board, large safe, mini-bar, ice bucket, good size desk and chair and a flat screen TV was installed during our stay. Excellent bio-degradable toiletries with a lovely tangy citrus smell: shampoo, shower gel, soap and body milk but no conditioner. Delicious breakfast of cereals with sprinkles of goji berries, chopped dried fruit, spelt, various chopped nuts, yogurts, fresh fruits; breads and cold cuts; bacon and scrambled eggs. Slightly expensive at 20 euros, if, like me, you can only manage a bowl of cereal in the morning, though it is reduced to 15 euros if booked in advance. The excellent coffee machine actually ground the beans before brewing. We took one dinner which was pleasant enough, though choice was limited as the King's Day celebrations the day before had virtually emptied the larder. However, you are just 5 minutes walk away from excellent restaurants such as the Pheun Thai (turn right down the Hobbemakade outside the hotel and it's just past the bridge); and the Balti House, Monteverde, Orontes and Juuls which are all to be found on Albert CuypStraat (turn right outside the hotel along Hobbemakade and then left across the bridge.)

You can actually see the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, and the Van Gogh and Stedelijk museums are close by, as are places to take canal trips and hop on hop off bus tours. The Heineken experience is also nearby. The Vondelpark is a welcome oasis of greenery and the canals outside the hotel are full of waterbirds and their chicks right now. The tram to the Centraal Station stops just 2 minutes away down the Ruysdaelstraat. If you know where you want to visit, you can save money and time queuing by visiting Tours and Tickets who have a ticket shop in the square near the museums www.tours-tickets.com and buying combi-tickets. You may also save money by buying an IAMSTERDAM card which provides free travel on most public transport and free or discounted entry to many museums and attractions.http://www.iamsterdam.com/en-GB/experience/deals/i-amsterdam-city-card Alternatively, the hotel has bicycles for hire.

Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. My only criticisms of the hotel would be the pillows - there was an extra one in our wardrobe but we did not find any of them comfortable - and the lack of storage space for clothes. We only had a rucksack each but I ended up rolling up our jumpers, t-shirts and underwear to store in the open shelf each side of the bed.

Room tip: Higher floors have good views. Ask for a canal view.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your detailed review. This will be a great help for our future guests. Hopefully we can welcome you in our hotel again. please keep in mind that we have several different kinds of pillows in store. So please feel free to ask for one or two made of a differnet kind of material.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a great hotel for my recent vacation. I was only in Amsterdam for a few nights but loved the location. It is walking distance to all the museums and close to 2 trams that run into the city center. The property was clean and neat and the front desk was mostly helpful. We opted to add on the buffet breakfast for $15/person/morning and I would say save the money and find something near by. We added it for the convenience but for the price it was not worth it. Again the staff was friendly but we felt it was average at best, nothing special. Also, you have to check out in person so make sure you leave enough time for that. When we were ready to check out there was a long line with both front desk attendants working as fast as they could.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews