We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #106 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was a great hotel for my recent vacation. I was only in Amsterdam for a few nights but loved the location. It is walking distance to all the museums and close to 2 trams that run into the city center. The property was clean and neat and the front desk was mostly helpful. We opted to add on the buffet breakfast for $15/person/morning and I would say save the money and find something near by. We added it for the convenience but for the price it was not worth it. Again the staff was friendly but we felt it was average at best, nothing special. Also, you have to check out in person so make sure you leave enough time for that. When we were ready to check out there was a long line with both front desk attendants working as fast as they could.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a great stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently on a short break to Amsterdam. Definitely a good area to use as a base given the proximity of some of the museum attractions. Close also to canal transport options.

The hotel, part of a chain, was pleasant with friendly staff. The room suited our needs although there was very little wardrobe and drawer storage for clothes. A problem if you were staying longer than 2/3 nights possibly. Free wifi in the room was limited to a small bandwidth but adequate for picking up email and browsing less graphic orientated websites.

We ate at the hotel one night. The food was good, although the restaurant area for evening meals seems fairly small and the menu limited. The breakfasts were good with plenty of variety to the usual buffet.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Korky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyes your time with us. Unfortunately, we are aware the wardrobe is small if you are staying for a longer period, and we apologize for the inconveniece that may have caused you.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a nice little hotel located almost across the street from the Van Gogh museam. It was also located 5 min from the 16/24 tram line which takes 10 min to get to central station. The hotel rate was great, it can be compared to a holiday inn express. Dont take the breakfast option as there are lots of good restaraunts in walking range for brunch. Hotel was clean and they have really nice Cribs for babies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jharve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed our hotel and the surroundings. We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I was slightly apprehensive about this hotel after reading some negative reviews. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. Well located to explore - particularly close to the museums and the heineken experience. Our room was lovely no canal view but floor to ceiling windows. Room was spacious, clean and well equipt. Staff were helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Chillipepper85
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read we were able to change your feelings of the Museum Quarter. We always aim to give our guests the best service and attention we can. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with a lovely view of the canal. It was an easy walk to the Rijks and the Van Gogh museums. The tram stop, for all other locations, was less than a block away. Breakfast was excellent. We found a great Indian Restaurant just up the street, and there is a pub across the street. The TV could use an upgrade but that is not a high priority for me. They had lovely bath products. My only real complaint was a very hard pillow. I stayed two nights and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, it is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and found your way around in this neighbourhood. We are happy to read you would like to visit us again. Please keep in mind that we can provide you with a different type of pillows if the one in the rooms does not feel comfortable.

We are pleased to say we have installed new tv's in the last 2 weeks.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our room was a "superior king" corner room with wide windows on two sides---beautiful views of the canal and neighborhood. The room and bath were very spacious, modern, clean, and stylish. The public areas of the hotel are attractive and well appointed, with lounge areas, a bar, big windows, and a very comfortable formal restaurant, in addition to the slightly less formal breakfast area. The breakfast buffet may be the best I have ever seen. Easy walking to museums and great restaurants. The staff were all first-rate and easily handled questions of all sorts. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were on only the second floor (in America, third floor), so we were worried about street noise, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about NH Museum Quarter! It is an absolute pleasure to read you had a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I know very well Amsterdam (lived there 2 years) and knew this hotel has an amazing and very handy location.
I was however very disappointed by the room (very large but very old fashion) and the bed was AWFULL (my grand-mother's old beds are far better than these old-stype spring-mattresses.
Must say I mainly come to hotels to sleep. Bad idea in there.
Breakfast buffet is nice and classical.
I will not book there for my next trup in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 842emilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read you did not sleep well during your stay. The last two weeks we changed all the beds and tv's in the hotel. We do understand this will not change your experience in our hotel. But we certainly hope you will consider to stay with us the next time you will visit Amsterdam.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#86 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing