We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #114 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

So many problems: rude and unhelpful staff who don’t care even when you complain, no control over central heating so we froze or sweated and the wishes of central control, horrible room furniture, tiny & outdated TV which we couldn’t see properly from bed, corridors out of a soviet hospital, grubby sink, indescribable toiletries, almost no lighting in the room, weak Internet & the rule of 50 euro deposit even though full payment had been received…. Not a four star more a 3 star with 1 star service

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences with regards to your stay at NH Museum Quarter. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment for us to read the inconveniences you have dealt with during your stay.

We would like to assure you that we haven taken your feedback seriously. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused and that we failed in providing the correct services that you can expect from us. However we also do realize that this will not change your experience with our hotel.

We still hope to welcoming you another time.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for New Year - the second year in a row. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the hotel is really nicely placed out of town, but on a good tram route (16 and 24) and near Muzeumplein. Make sure that you get a gvb tram ticket (we got ours from the tourist information desk at Schipol 16.5 euro for 72 hours) that lets you hop on and off the trams and buses at will.

The hotel is very well run and we have no adverse comments at all

Room Tip: Usually when registering you will be offered an up-grade for approx 15 euros a night - we took it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Good afternoon,

Good to hear you stayed with us for the second time already. Can we reserve a room for you December 31st 2014 already ? ;-) Thank you for your review an d a happy new year.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had so much fun staying at this hotel because of its location and staff. We had a nice room, internet access worked great, but you need to re login every 6 hours. It was easy for us to move around, get into town, see sights. So many places are in walking distance and the room was beautiful. Well worth the money. This place comes highly recommended. Oh, breakfast is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and we hope seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Manager NH Museumquarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is perfectly fine. The beds are comfortable and the canal views really nice. Hotel is close to the museums and easy access to transport to the rest of the city. It's quiet and comfortable. The hallway smells a little bit like stale urine but the rooms are very clean. The hotel touts free wifi all over the place, and you can connect to the "basic" service, but it's terrible and really they want you to purchase the "premium" for 9 euros per 24 hours. That's fine, but they go over the top to make the internet seem free.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JacobDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments about NH Museum Quarter. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, I have to agree the basic internet is not always working as it should. This is on the prioritylist for 2014. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this NH Hotel. The location was relatively close to city center and we really enjoyed the convenience of being able to hop on and off the tram stop that was very closeby. We purchased the 3-day tram pass and it was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and were quick to bring a few items to our room that we requested (extra towels, pillows, etc). Our room was quite large with a view of the canal and we were able to get a decent price for our stay. The only complaint would be that the rooms were a little dated and are going to need some updating soon. However, other than sleeping, showering, and a few rests before going out for the evening, we did not spend much time there. We would use it again for our next visit to Amsterdam (or another NH hotel also close to the city center).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We got here last night. At first glance it wasn't what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Having said that the room is a nice size, bed was comfortable, bathroom was a good size and staff for the most part were friendly. I think next time I would prefer a hotel closer to the center but again not a bad stay. A plus was that we were able to do laundry in the hotel.
Food is pricey in Amsterdam, hotel breakfast was very expensive. We opted to eat in town for less.

Room Tip: I didn't know that you could pay and extra 15 euro and upgrade. When I commented on the room I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaelyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, was in a great location, 2min walk from the tram stop just round the corner, number 16 and 24 run straight to central station and the dam. Rooms were clean, had a nice view of the canal, breakfast was ok but I think for the extra you pay it would be more worth while just going to a local cafe, all in all a great stay, will be back for sure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Golfgti220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing