We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay 29/9/13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #114 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice, friendly hotel less than 10 minutes from Rijksmuseum.
There were some negatives though:
1) Safe did not work in room.
2) Vending machine did not release purchased confectionery item.
3) Dinner service was poor - after main course there was only one dessert choice available and then staff disappeared indefinitely so I could not settle bill.
Came to my room twice to reconfirm order and then present bill.
4) Two nights were very expensive and also charged for breakfast on top of this.
Very poor value for money - not the level of service expected in a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank agdraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel's biggest drawing card is the location. Just a short walk to Museumplein, the Heineken Experience and the vibrant Albert Cuyp market. The view over the canal and De Pijp neighbourhood adds to the true Amsterdam experience.
The rooms are comfortable but could use a modern touch. Staff are friendly and very helpful
I used this hotel as a stop for a few days of business and found it be exactly what I needed: easy access to public transport and a nice relaxing area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location for those whose main visit to Amsterdam is for visiting museums or attending concerts. It is within a short walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the newly renovated modern art gallery and the city's main concert hall. It is also only a 50 yard walk to a tram which takes you into the city centre. (Tip - when arriving at Schipphol take the train to the Central Station and then the No. 16 tram right outside the station and get off at the third stop after the Heineken Experience). The hotel itself is simple but classy, extremely clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the canal and was very spacious with a large bathroom (not just a shower). It was noisy with the window open, but the air conditioning worked well so you could leave the windows closed at night. We got a special offer on breakfast - 15 euros each instead of 20 and at this price it was good value (bearing in mind that Amsterdam is an expensive city). There was a wide variety of food and we found we didn't need much lunch after it. The evening dinner menu is very limited (but they explain this) and there is a really good Italian restaurant within a short walking distance over the bridge, which served enormous helpings so was very good value. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, with the exception of the barman, who needs some training in customer service. We would certainly stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floor on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanLesDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is just under a 5 minute walk from all the major museums on Museum Quarter. It's also withing walking to the Heineken Experience and the De Pijp area (great for finding a bite to eat). The hotel is located right on the canal and so the view from the rooms was wonderful. It was a great area for walking and exploring. The staff was so friendly and so willing to help us. We even rented bikes from the hotel and had a great time enjoying Amsterdam by bike! We are hoping to go back to Amsterdam in December and if we do we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic location if you're in town to see the art museums. Just 5 min walk and a very quite area where you can sleep with you window open without noice outside. My room was spacious and comfortable. Free Internet is a plus. The breakfast is varied and very good, and there's a nice gym in the basement. The reception staff was however a bit slow and seemed a bit uninterested. The bar staff was usually not there - we had to wait for ages to order a drink, and had to get the reception to ring them to pay...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

great location for area highlights, easy to get to. Beds are old and not very comfortable needs update but acceptable for 2 nights. hairdryer in room a plus and good toiletries provided small update would put this back on top!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We come through Amsterdam regularly, but this was our first stay at the NH Hotel. We decided to try a smaller hotel and it was worth the effort. Parking was accessible and worked well. We will definitely stay at NH Quarter again!



  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Alford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#63 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,974 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing