We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #106 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilton, California, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Affordable Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The NH Museum Quarter Hotel is strategically located near the lightrail stop and a couple of blocks from the major Museums. The hotel had great staff and wonderful service. Breakfast was always a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    789
    247
    68
    28
See reviews for
220
793
73
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is great for food and the Museum quarter and of course getting around on the trains is convenient to anywhere

the rooms are very dated - very old TVs / the WiFi is terrible - but free - even the paid "high speed" was spotty more than consistent

the beds are older and worn - my colleague found a gift of a spring in his side in his room - mine was just old and worn

overall - would stay again - due to location - but depends on reason for being there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thead1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Nh museum hotel is pleasant. I stayed during IBC when the city is overbooked but the hotel handles the pressure well
Rented one of their bikes to alleviate jet lag which was a good decision as biking in Amsterdam is fun and the hotel bikes are in good repair
Morning Breakfast at 20 euro is pricey but of good quality

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emathewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, the staff courteous and the rooms spacious even by North American standards. The WIFI, however, is stone age. I was traveling on business for 6 days, trying to exchange documents with my office in North America and clients on a 256k line!! For the non technical, this is the kind of standard one would have expected in 1995. To make matters worse, the system requires you to enter in long codes every 24 hours to keep the connection alive. After repeated connection debacles, trips to reception to help fix and frustrating white screens(and this was just in the first few hours), the hotel staff put me in touch with their third party provider (Swisscom). The provider sensing my frustration, offered me a 'premium' upgrade at 7 euros a day which I had to take given I could not function at all. This upped the connection to a whopping 1.5mb which laughingly puts it ten years behind instead of 20. I had to struggles through using this because there were no decent hotels available during this period or I would have left immediately. If you are traveling on business and need a decent connection to even deal with simple pdfs, word docs and the like, then run far and fast from this hotel.By far one of the worst I have encountered in amsterdam…..Either that or expect to walk over to Starbucks to can send a pdf.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank stefp129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Our priority was to be in the Museum precinct of Amsterdam. The location was perfect yet also close to tram stop into centre which ran every 10mins. Gorgeous view of canal & great service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maribelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here several years ago and knew the location was perfect (if you do not want to be in the noisy centre) with tram stops a few minutes walk away as are the Museums,canal cruises and some super restaurants. The area is very nice and clean and quiet although the road can be pretty busy and, like the rest of Holland, you need to be totally vigilant when crossing the cycle paths! Ignore this at your peril as they take no prisoners if you walk in their space and there is not much left for pedestrians!
Rooms at the hotel are large, we had a corner room 314 and it was huge with large (opening) windows good blackout curtains and a very comfortable king bed made up of twin mattresses. Pillows of lumpy foam not my thing but I always take my own its the only way to guarantee a decent one. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and, although a little tired and dated, we found no complaints with our room or indeed any of the facilities. One lift was out of action for a day but hey we got more exercise and used the stairs. Cupboard space is limited in the rooms so when they do a revamp they will hopefully address this. We chose to breakfast outside the hotel but did eat there one evening as it was pouring with rain and were pleasantly surprised by the large tasty portions on offer. We did find the bar closing at 11pm, particularly on Saturday night, as rather poor for such a large busy hotel but maybe that is why it was so lovely and quiet with no rowdy late night revellers. Reception staff were always very helpful and polite. If we return to Amsterdam we would certainly choose this hotel once again.

Room Tip: Front facing or corner room 214 314 were spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really good size standard rooms close to the museums and a canal bus stop. We stopped here for 2 nights on a cycle tour and they let us put our bikes in the internal courtyard so no chance of them getting stolen. No traffic noise either

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing