We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, But Great Location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #104 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dated, But Great Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon!

Pros: (1) Amsterdam is small, so this hotel was walking distance to just about every tourist attraction. We made the walk to/from The Red Light District, Ann Frank House, and Heineken Factory. We even managed to squeeze in a river tour that wasn't too far of a walk from our hotel. (2) Night life in this area was great. There are a few restaurants and bars just on the other side of the river that was home to a late twenties/early thirties crowd - which was right up our alley. (3) Being 'on the river', the view from our hotel room was excellent! (4) Our room itself was very large and comfortable for the most part. (5) The front desk staff was helpful, and all personnel spoke English.

Cons: (1) The rooms are very dated (box TV's and all!), but if you don't plan on being indoors very much, this should not be an issue for you. (2) The breakfast buffet is not included in your room fee, and is very expensive.

Verdict:
Would I stay here again? Yes.
Would I recommend this place to a friend? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    828
    264
    74
    29
See reviews for
228
854
78
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We came away from our stay at the NH Museum Quarter hotel with no real negatives. The hotel itself is a good standard for the money, it has a decent little gym that is very quiet. A buffet breakfast in the morning (till 11am I think) that was good. No hot buffet as such but some very good omelettes! The hotel is situated quite a bit out of the centre but this is not a problem as Amsterdam was not big, seemed safe, and trams are frequent and inexpensive. Also, plenty of places to eat/drink locally before strolling back to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireRedSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I loved this hotel - room 614 is the best! The hotel is a block or so away from the tram stop on Ruysdaelstraat just at Hobbemakade (tram 16 or 24 from Central Station). And is 2-3 blocks away from the Rijksmuesum, Van Gogh Museum, and the Stedelijk - as well as the "I Amsterdam" sign.

The hotel was modern enough and clean, but spring for the upgraded room and request 614 if you can - it has floor to ceiling windows along both external walls. Seriously, it is phenomenal. And that room is huge - not just by European standards, it is very spacious by US standards.

The front desk staff was mostly helpful, but I didn't love their restaurant recommendations as I thought they were a bit generic or geared towards other cuisines than Dutch. We went to La Falote and loved it (Roelof Hartstraat 26 IV)

There is also a grocery store at the Museumplein (far west edge), called Albert Heijn. It is just a small opening up top and the rest of the store is below ground, so it can be easy to miss, but it's very convenient if you want to pick up a few snacks or breakfast items.

Room Tip: 614 is a superior, corner room. Reserve that one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aja9p9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our family in four rooms for five days. We had special requests but the staff was very helpful. Very convenient for museum goers. The breakfast was lavish. Certainly a place to go back too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
294 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is good, rooms are clean, I am just not a fan of NH Hotels, so the rest may be a tad negative. The Iron had no steam capabilities, no clock anywhere in the room, one thin towel, not two, just not the quality or quantity of a great hotel. One tiny bar of soap that lasts one, maybe two if you are lucky showers. Internet was dreadfully slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booking ate, it was hard to find a good room at a decent price. The week-end extender rate allowing a Sunday check out at 5 pm gave us a whole extra day -- a great deal. I liked: the large room overlooking the canal (worth the 15 euro extra), the extensive breakfast buffet with good coffee, the underused gym and the location in a typical neighborhood away from the mob of tourists in the center. I would suggest: new carpets, new televisions and better internet service.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
221 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is situated very close to the main museums of Amsterdam. My room was small and cramped with an aircondition system that has seen better days. The TV is from the 90's. Internet is free but very slow. Breakfast is OK but with 1 coffee machine for 50-60 guests coming in, it takes a while to wake up. Service is in general OK. The maid though walk straight into my room without asking if its OK (I was on the phone). The elevator sounded like it had skipped maintenance the last few years. The fitness center is OK, but only has 1 treadmill and no free weights. All in all it reminds me of a Scandic hotel which is not necessarily a compliment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the street and top floor as glass windows across the whole front = very warm whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing