We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed but they try hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #116 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Understaffed but they try hard”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

There were two things that attracted me to the hotel - price and location.

The room was just about 4 star, but the throw on the bed had a cigarette burn on it, and the room was not thoroughly cleaned daily (there was a glass from the bar left there for days), so just there for 4 star.

The duty manager admitted that the staff are expected to carry out three + roles - eg. bar man, waiter, cook and room service, for one person. But on the plus side the staff are excellent. NOTE : Apparently the senior management know about this but don't correct it.

The wifi gives about 100k, ok for email, just about ok for Skype, but don't expect more than that, also failed to connect to a VPN, so I was not able to work from the room. Finally the voucher only lasts for 24 hr, and you have to collect another one from reception.

Would I stay there again - yes, but not if they wanted more than £65 per night room only.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Keggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH_Museum_Quarter, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the great compliment about our staff!! I will share your nice comments towards the teams. And thank you for your feedback with respect to your experience.

I sincere apologize for the fact that we did not meet your full expectations with regards to the room and room cleaning. This is absolutely one of our priorities, and therefore I am gratefull that identified above and shared it with us.

It would be great in welcoming you again in our hotel in the nearest future!

regards, Victor van der Knaap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    865
    290
    87
    31
See reviews for
246
911
83
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hello,

Reasonable price, good location (a lot of museums around, all central locations are reachable by 20-40 minutes walking or in 5 minutes by train). Room were tidy and in a good condition. I really liked variety and quality of food for breakfast (except one thing, see below).
I'd give this hotel solid 4 star rating if not one incident that spoiled our stay a bit. My daughter found a pice of glass (!!) in the jelly during breakfast which she had almost eaten. When we pointed this out to a servant - no appologies came, nothing, just cold: "I'll clean this up".
And the staff behaivour in general I wouldn't describe as friendly at all, more like 'neutral'.

So I'd recommend it for stay objectively if not my personal experience which might be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, at superior room.
the room was big and spacious, it was clean when we entered, and had cleaned everyday. the reception was fast, and the women at the front desk were very kind and helpfull.
we didnt eat at the hotel restaurant, it seems too expensive, and it was good to eat outside.
the location is off the main city area, so you have to use the tram (10min) or walk around (~1hr) but it was ok for us - get to know the city.
across the street there are cafes, restaurants and great local pubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH_Museum_Quarter, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for nice comments! I am very proud that we received five stars of you!

regards, Victor van der Knaap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good: you really can't get a better location at this price. Blocks from the major museums, shopping, and some wonderful restaurants and cafes. Tram stop is a block away, making getting around extremely convenient. And the hotel staff, from the reception desk workers to the bartender are very nice.

However, you don't want to actually spend any time in this hotel. The hallways smell musty, the room decor in 70's modern (and not in a chic retro way), the carpets are stained, the tub enclosure is moldy, and the sink porcelain was seriously cracked. I would not stay here again, at least not until they refurbish the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShoshTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH_Museum_Quarter, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review and share your experiences. I am really happy to read you liked our location and our staff.
Also thanks for sharing your feedback regarding the hotel. Altough our hotel is having a good outlook, there are indeed points for improvement and we are currently working hard on it. However I do hope that we can welcome you in our hotel again!

regards, Victor van der Knaap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good location for getting around. Stayed 2 nights Very close to a tram stop. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Paid extra for a room on the 7th floor with great views. Worth paying the extra. Did not have breakfast in the hotel as felt 18 euros per person for breakfast was far too expensive. Instead just walked across the street and found Bagels & beans where we had coffee and bagels at a far more reasonable price. Food selection in the hotel very limited and again expensive for what it was. Very dissapointed that the bar closed at 11pm on the dot (no exceptions). I have never come across this in any hotel I have stayed in, usually the bar is open later for residents. Vending machines on each level, but was not re stocked every day, so couldn't even get a drink out of the machine. This trip was both business and pleasure. We had a business meeting on the Friday and decided to make a weekend of it.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra 15 euros per night for a room higher up (not so close to the road) and for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good hotel for overnight with good location, but faceless. If you want to enjoy the city with its museums, galleries, canals and restaurants. it's a good choice for a short trip. Rooms are clean, spacious but shabby and not cozy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DenitsaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

NH Museum qtr hotel has a good location; with shops, tourist attractions (galleries, museums etc..) and canal walks all within 5 minutes by tram, which stops close by. We found the hotel staff to be professional and the room to be clean,but the wi-fi to be a weak signal. If you are looking for a basic, good value, no frills hotel to visit the sights of Amesterdam? NH is a good place to start.

Room Tip: transport from the airport to hotel is a fixed rate (35 euros) taxi and takes approx 20 minutes; muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mars_Miffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#130 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,583 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#72 of 369 in Amsterdam
970 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#103 of 369 in Amsterdam
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing