We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #107 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 star?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was a nice hotel, not sure I would call it 4 star. Was close to a tram to easily access all museums. Cute restaurants near by, and we had a beautiful view of the canal. The free wifi was nice but you had to get a new access code from the front desk every 24 hours and it was a little slow some times

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Before we stayed here, I read reviews with mixed feelings. The good: the price and location. Elevator not too small, and staff was friendly and helpful. The room also was very nice, ours faced on the canal; nice drapes which included light filtering a well as light blocking. The bathroom was nicely updated with lovely bath. All a plus. We didn't go for the overpriced breakfast, as warned in the reviews. But it was several blocks to the nearest restaurants.

The only negative here was the ubiquitous orange carpet which was in the halls as well as the rooms. It was just plain odd in that it was more like a felt; had been cleaned within an inch of its life and on our visit at least it was dry. (Hey, NH how about replacing it??) It just felt unsavory underfoot. But not bad enough to have us miss staying again should we come to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenskasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights and found the room and ensuite to be large, very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent - English speaking, and arranged an on-the-spot, very early morning check-in for 20 euros, with only a 10minute wait. Hotel was conveniently located to a tram stop, and was also a comfortable walk from the city centre. Very closely located to museums. Good wifi connection, plenty of services available for business professionals or holidayers. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed one night in this hotel for business in september this year. The staff was very friendly and has been also very professional to every question I have asked them. The room was a standard room, quite spacious, and very bright. I had a nice view on the canal, and a very comfortable bed. The large desk is fine for business trips. I recommend this lovely hotel to everyone, it's not far from the Heineken brewery, and a 10 minutes walk from the city centre.
(Rembrandt plaza).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonard-hirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in this fawlty-est of towers for four nights, only because we'd pre-paid the booking. From the bewildered reception staff (half of whom seemed to be there on work experience) to the "interesting" stains in the bathroom it was all pretty terrible.
I rang room service at twenty past ten, the man on the other end said the line was bad and that he would call me back. He did, at eleven o'clock.
The biggest peeve would have to be the wifi though, the NH chain are very proud of being "...the first international hotel chain with free Wi-Fi in all its rooms". I can see how you might think that when they say "all its rooms" they mean exactly that. They don't, they mean all rooms in certain hotels, and not this one. There is free wifi in the lobby, but when I asked for a code I was told I would have to wait for fifty minutes. That's almost an hour to the likes of you and me.
I could easily go on about this place, but it's wasted enough of my time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First class hotel for a short break, 2 mins walk to the trams which will take you to central station where yo can get trams to any part of Amsterdam, street market just 10 mins walk as is van gough & reich museum. we requested a smoking room and got one, you can sit out at the canal across from the hotel and watch the boats go by. Just a great lazy week-end
When you arrive in amsterdam, forget about the taxi's, get the # 16 or #24 tram, and get of 2 stops past albert kypt street market, then 2 mins walk to hotel, this is my 3rd stay at this hotel

Room Tip: get a smoking room (if you are a smoker) on the second floor, and a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandmadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked this place for a one night stay before embarking on a cruise. We were more than pleased with the location as well as the staff who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Parks, museums, markets and eateries are all close by. We will be returning in November and look forward to our stay at this most affordable and well operated facility. Thank you ladies behind the front desk for your help and advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#86 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing