We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveler rating
655
974
325
98
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
974
325
98
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopvan gogh museumgreat locationstreet marketfloor to ceiling windowsmajor museumsalbert cuyp marketheineken experiencegood sizenice hotelminute walkcanal viewspacious roomquiet locationwalking distancecorner roomtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,185 - 1,190 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked early after checking tripadvisor ratings and prices, there are some great deals to be had but they're prepaid so can't be canceled. I'd recommendgoing for the superior rooms for the greater size and better views.

Anyway, upon arriving the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and had allocated us a corner room on the canal side. This room was amazing: as a corner room it was much bigger than a side room and had floor to ceiling windows, a large bed, desk, table and chairs and functional bathroom. A fridge is included for your own use (helpful as the supermarket is not that far away), as is an iron and ironing board, safe and bathrobe/slippers set. Totally recommend asking for room 614.

The service here is everything you could want: very helpful, courteous and friendly (except for one slightly grumpy woman on the Saturday).

On previous tripadvisor advice we didn't sign up for the expensive breakfast. We did try the slightly expensive room wifi: €10.70 for 24 hours: I think the 6th floor is really at the extreme range of the wifi and often forgets you are logged on do probably not worth it, however there is an ethernet cable on the desk if your running a laptop.

Locationwise the hotel is very close to the museumplein (museum square) and just down the road from the southernmost canal boat tour stop (behind the rijksmeum). However the city centre is about 25-30 minutes walk away so I'd suggest getting a tram card (like an oystercard) that we found difficult to locate an outlet for. Foodwise the supermarket is on the museumplein and there are plenty of expensive pretentious restaurants not far away but I'd stick to Mont Verde (friendly Italian round the corner) and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arby_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

NH Museum Quarter Hotel was an excellent place to spend a weekend in Amstersdam. This moderately priced hotel is situated within a short walking distance to many cultural centers like the Rijksmuseum and the Concertgebouw. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, even securing our luggage until check in time, allowing us an early chance to experience the city. The room was exactly as expected for the cost, not a lot of fluff, but roomy, quiet, and clean with large, in-room bath.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KEN472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is very nice, the staff are all courteous.

The rooms are clean and are a nice size for a european hotel.

The location is fantastic, walking distance to vondel park, musuems and the chabad center!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abraham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a clean and pleasant hotel in a quiet section of Amsterdam, a few blocks from the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, and, a couple blocks after that, one of the major pedestrian streets.

When I checked in, I was worried that this was going to be another of those trendy hotels for Beautiful Young People that sacrifices convenience for hipness. Nope. While it feels young, and the design is quite modern, my room was quite comfortable. It's not large by American standards, but it's also certainly not cramped, and not nearly as small as European rooms can be. Full length windows that slide open. Comfortable bed. Mediocre tube TV. Refrigerator. iron and ironing board standard in the room. Excellent full breakfast buffet - the croissants were perfection.

The free wifi in the lobby is (I believe) only granted per half hour. The mediocre wifi in the rooms is run by Swisscom, which charges 10 euros per 24 hours. But be sure to ask for the wifi from the registration desk, or else Swisscom will charge you 18euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank davidjoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice location away from the center of AMS....but very easy to walk to. Everything is very walkable. Upscale shopping 2-3 blocks away and museums within 2 blocks. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but the location is good if you want to be away from the craziness. I would recommend for an easy, laid back stay.......staff is very friendly. :)

Room Tip: Stay on the canal side if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews