We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Student Hotel Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Student Hotel Amsterdam West
Ranked #23 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

i just recently came home from staying in the student hotel, i was very very pleased with our room, was very clean, bed was really comfy, toilet was clean, with clean towels... staff were really nice and considering its only a 3 star hotel the restaurant food was lovely. its a simular lay out to student halls, modern but simple. the tram was 10-15 minutes from the central and you can get tickets for as many days as you are staying for for quite cheap.if i was to come to amsterdam again i would stay in this hotel. paided 110 for 3 days between 2 of us, so was cheap for what we got aswell. very happy!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam West, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Lauren h,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel and most of all that you had a great stay with us!

We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook or Twitter if you decide to do so!

Have a lovely day,

Frank Uffen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    355
    130
    39
    31
See reviews for
43
397
91
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Friendly staff. Modern. Minimalist rooms. Location is quite far from city centre but tram 13 is on the doorstep. I would not stay again for this excessive price however considering it is very remote. Would be great however for long term stay as a student

Helpful?
Thank Spare446
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days and it was all perfect, our room was really clean and the hotel design was very peculiar and young. Staff was very nice and kind.
The hotel is just in front of a tram stop (13) that brings you in 10/15 minutes to the centre of the city, the Dam square, and then from there you can visit all the greatest attractions of this beautiful city.
We will surely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorwnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is quite a new place so everything is still in a good condition. However keep in mind, this is not a hotel but a students' dormitory. For a long term stay it probably provides a lovely accommodation and facilities, but for a short stay it's really not a right place. If you are coming to Amsterdam alone and you want company, there is always someone to play ping pong or basketball with there but if you are planning to do only a quick city tour, then don't waste your time here.
The hotel is a bit further from the centre, even though there is a metro and tram stop just outside. The room is very basic. Probably the most basic you will ever have: a bed and a tv. No cups or glasses, not decorations on the walls, no phone, no trash bin or blow drier in the bathroom. I had no problems with its cleanliness (and the maid did knock asking if I needed any cleaning to be done) and there was free wifi but I just didn't feel like it was worth the money I paid. There are better places closer to the city centre (or in the city centre) that cost less so I think the next time I will just stay there instead of trying new hotels.
Also, don't forget they don't accept cash, only the credit cards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I and my friend were in the student hostel 5 days sorry I do not know why wanted to take charge when it was ok, as was explained and gave us a double room when we had paid two single rooms girls pretended they did not understand and spoke English very quickly with Dutch accent. rooms not cleaned at our insistence cleaned only once in our five days asked for ,taxi and almost an hour waiting for the taxi as it seems girls waiting for his boyfriend is time taxi,It horror I wos tree times at Amsterdam but this time was a very bad experience this hotel .With this price find other hotels in the charming town of tulips

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed one night

Pros: Comfy bed, clean room, easy check in, kitchen in room! Wifi. Nice cafe downstairs
Not fancy - but great value.

Cons: promised (in marketing, website, etc) bike was not available, extra taxes to pay on check in, no cups or basics to make hot drink in room. Also - quite a way out of town.

Overall, great if you are a student looking to spend term time in Amsterdam - but they need to work on the weekenders and holiday makers like us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeksOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.4 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
2.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Student Hotel Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Amsterdam West

Property: The Student Hotel Amsterdam West
Address: Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Amsterdam West 3*
Number of rooms: 709
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 20-minute cab ride from Schipol, The Student Hotel Amsterdam West makes a great base to explore the city of Amsterdam. We're a quick 15-minute tram or metro ride into the city center. If you want to stay within walking distance, you can enjoy a picnic and a dip at Sloterplas or dance the night away at trendy new hotspot, DeSchool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Student Hotel Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing