We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Follow your nose....to the long queue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar 'N Ice

Sugar 'N Ice
Ranked #47 of 96 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Sugar 'N ice - The happy makers :) All our products are made fresh in the shop without any artificial color or flavours. we are a one of a kind shop!
Short hills, nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Follow your nose....to the long queue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We could smell the fresh waffles cooking as we walked toward Sugar N Ice. Some of the most delicious waffles I have had anywhere. The chocolate sauce was real melted chocolate, not Nutella spread, and it was rich and delicious. While there was a line outside, the waffles were definitely worth the wait and worth breaking your low carb diet!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place is absolutely brilliant! There is something for everyone; ice cream, ice cream milkshakes, pancakes and waffles! We accidentally found this place and recommend that everyone goes there as a must to visiting Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and welcoming too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2104916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best caramel sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is excellent! Chatted with one of the owners who makes everything in the store by hand. The Carmel sauce on the waffle I got is the best I have ever had. Do not hesitate to go here for a sweet treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sweet Temptation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The tour guide brought me and my 3 girlfriends from Singapore to this ice cream cafe.

An ice cream a day keeps you happy all day. For me, it has always to be double scoops, double happiness. I ordered the yoghurt & strawberry on cone, my girlfriends ordered the pistachio & salted caramel. These are gourmet ice cream, smooth & creamy, not too sweet and tasted very yummy. Be careful, extremely addictive.

Back to Singapore, missing this wonderful feeling of enjoying an ice cream in cold April Amsterdam!





  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelaughlovehi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Without words to explain my joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Well how do I put this? I don't eat sweets too often as I am a bit of a health nut but when I do I like it to be good. I previously had a 'favorite' ice cream here in Amsterdam and by any measurement its amazing. Sugar 'N Ice is over the top even better than my previous favorite. I had the salted caramel & mascarpone which was a flavor explosion with each bite. My experience was so good I broke my dietary rule and went back the next day. Also had a new flavor I'd never heard of. In terms of my favorite ice cream in the world its in the top 3 (Hokey Pokey in Berlin & Berthillion in Paris blew my mind also).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmericanAbroadAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar 'N Ice also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar 'N Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing