We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oooooh yummy yummy ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar 'N Ice

Sugar 'N Ice
Ranked #29 of 81 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Sugar 'N ice - The happy makers :) All our products are made fresh in the shop without any artificial color or flavours. we are a one of a kind shop!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oooooh yummy yummy ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome and a "must-do" in Amsterdam after a big day of walking, museums, shopping and riding bikes pretending to be a hipster.

The food is amazing - warm waffles fresh and tasty and then topped with beautiful ice cream that is made on site using natural ingredients.

Coffee is also nice. I enjoyed a great chat with the owner about the ice cream making process and the philosophy behind the shop and it's products/service. Really neat wee place.

Helpful?
Thank mckaymckaymckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Freshest waffles in town and poffertjes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love this place! Everything is so fresh, like within the last few minutes fresh waffles and poffertjes. Even the ice cream is made on the premises and the coffee is amazing. I pop in often as it is on my route to and from work. Patricia and Frans who own and run the place are so welcoming and friendly in the way that only small owner run places can be!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DunaH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon..and glad I did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The smell of the fresh made waffles wafting into the streets caught my attention quickly! A square waffle smothered in warm melted dutch chocolate...HEAVEN! Others in my group had gelato and reported it being VERY GOOD. The gentleman working the counter was very patient with us. When it came time to pay, he took extra time to explain the euro currency with us, which was nice. He was very pleasant to deal with, and we had some fun banter exchanges. Highly recommend if looking for a quick freshly made treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
“Go once for the poffertjes, go again for everything else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is delicious, a must for anyone who likes sweets. We were directed here by a local who suggested we try some authentic poffertjes with butter and powdered sugar. AMAZING. Everything is homemade there, with no additives. The owner is friendly and helpful, and has Gelato University certificates on display, haha. Definitely worth a stop if you're looking for a quick Dutch treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“sweet stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We happened by this place and stopped by for a snack. The kids insisted we return a second time and I didn't argue with them. The waffles are awesome and the gelato was excellent. Everything handmade by the owners with fresh ingredients. The service couldn't be better. they really treated the kids great! We all know how long it can take kids to choose a desert and they really didn't seem to mind. The espresso was top notch also. Skip desert elsewhere, walk a few minutes and stop by Sugar 'N Ice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar 'N Ice also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar 'N Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing