We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stumbled Upon..and glad I did!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar 'N Ice

Sugar 'N Ice
Ranked #17 of 76 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Sugar 'N ice - The happy makers :) All our products are made fresh in the shop without any artificial color or flavours. we are a one of a kind shop!
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon..and glad I did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The smell of the fresh made waffles wafting into the streets caught my attention quickly! A square waffle smothered in warm melted dutch chocolate...HEAVEN! Others in my group had gelato and reported it being VERY GOOD. The gentleman working the counter was very patient with us. When it came time to pay, he took extra time to explain the euro currency with us, which was nice. He was very pleasant to deal with, and we had some fun banter exchanges. Highly recommend if looking for a quick freshly made treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
1 review
“Go once for the poffertjes, go again for everything else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is delicious, a must for anyone who likes sweets. We were directed here by a local who suggested we try some authentic poffertjes with butter and powdered sugar. AMAZING. Everything is homemade there, with no additives. The owner is friendly and helpful, and has Gelato University certificates on display, haha. Definitely worth a stop if you're looking for a quick Dutch treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“sweet stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We happened by this place and stopped by for a snack. The kids insisted we return a second time and I didn't argue with them. The waffles are awesome and the gelato was excellent. Everything handmade by the owners with fresh ingredients. The service couldn't be better. they really treated the kids great! We all know how long it can take kids to choose a desert and they really didn't seem to mind. The espresso was top notch also. Skip desert elsewhere, walk a few minutes and stop by Sugar 'N Ice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Adictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Me and my daughter stumbled upon it last year and she insisted to go back every day during our stay in Amsterdam.
Again this year it was our ritual to go there every day while we were in Amsterdam.
The owners are friendly and also showed her how the Ice-cream was made.
10/10 for the lovely couple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koos-kombuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying in Amsterdam for 3 nights. Out looking for a restaurant one night with map in hand and person asked if they could help us. Well turned out this fine person owned this wonderful establishment that we would try later that evening. On our way back from dinner we stopped at Sugar N Ice. Sooo, glad we did. My husband had waffles with 3 types of ice cream on top and I had 3 scoops in a cup. Soo many wonderful flavors to choose from. The next night we stopped again and chose 3 more different flavors. The owner and his wife are so pleasant and you could see how he enjoyed his ice cream making business. He explained that he makes the ice cream right on premises. Wish we had been staying longer, could have tried more flavors, they all looked so appetizing. We have been to Rome and let me tell you this ice cream topped anything we had in Rome.
Thank you for the directions and thank you for making a wonderful ice cream treat to enjoy in Amsterdam. Great price too. Maybe you could bring your product to in the USA ?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nangefv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar 'N Ice also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sugar 'N Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing