We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super-helpful staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super-helpful staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff of Hotel Alexander were super-helpful during our stay at Amsterdam. They were responsive, knowledgeable, effective, and very friendly. They responded quickly to our questions about Amsterdam even before we began our trip. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet, with everything we needed. While the hotel was within walking distance to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, it was quiet and has a lovely courtyard. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of delicious choices, and the coffee was great! When we realized that we were late for checking in with our cruise, the hotel manager quickly called a cab for us, and helped us carry our bags to the cab, even though he was also helping other customers. We are grateful for all the help from the hotel staff, and highly recommend Hotel Alexander to anyone who plans to stay at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book at least 5 months in advance for stay during the tulip season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    219
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
179
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great location for Museums, Bars and Restaurants. I needed a hotel whilst attending a trade show at a time when hotels in Amsterdam were hard to find. The Quad room was a bit expensive for sole occupancy but it was a nice room on 2nd floor of the hotel. Clean, spacious, modern bathroom with a view over the court yard. Hotel reception staff were friendly and very helpful.I enjoyed the breakfast too. It was simple but offered a good choice. Great place for a family group if you don't mind being in the same room.

Room Tip: Having seen the photos of other rooms I would suggest booking a Quad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_Trip64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. The location is excellent and an easy walk to the museum district, restaurants and into the old town area. We found the rooms comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast quite nice with ample selection. The rooms are typical european - not too large but more than enough room for us and two large bags; the bed was very comfortable. The street is very quiet at night. The hotel also has an elevator which some hotels do not offer. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_on_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our accommodation in this hotel was just adequate. The room is very tiny, with no air conditioning, though there was a small fan mounted on the wall. Towels were threadbare,and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. While the bed was comfortable, it was at best a doble and quite small for two. The book in the room explaining the amenities, etc, said that pay TV was 10 Euros per day, but the desk clerk knew nothing about it - and the TV itself worked only intermittently.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.

Regarding your review, our roomsizes are indeed not big compared to hotelrooms in other countries. In small and dense cities like Amsterdam it is actually very common that hotelrooms are small.

Facilities like airconditioning and payTV (for extra tv channels) are not provided in simple three star hotels like ours, these can be found in hotels rated four stars and above. Gladly with our mild weather here, we hardly need any airconditioning.

We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

i traveled for visit congress and i booked this hotel for one night for about 90 euro
whithout bb
I arrived in hotel 7pm and reception give me rooms key in 3floor ,
my room best name was closet 1.6* 4.5 meter (7sq meter)
after 20 minute i come back to reception to change my rome and he saeid to pay 120 euro again
and he did not accept to give me standard room
so I left this hotel and find beter hotel okura hotel
please inform that room was 7.5 sq meter and im not hapoy with this hotel and the hotel did not
change and did not refound my money

Room Tip: best epwestern apollo and okura hotel is perfect hotel which I booked in amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Timor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
Our hotel rooms are indeed small compared to hotelrooms in other cities around the world. Amsterdam is actually known for having very small hotelrooms, this can be expected in a small and very dense capital city.

We apologize for the miscommunication between you and our employee. We did our very best to solve your problem and offered you a twopersonsroom for a small surcharge. At that time the rate for the twopersons room was 120 Euro, so only the price difference of 30 Euro had to be paid for the upgrade. Due to the miscommunication, apperantly you understood a surcharge of 120 Euro which had to be paid, this is not correct.

Just for your information, Hotel Okura is indeed a very very nice hotel. It is also the most expensive and luxurous 5 star hotel in Amsterdam (with rates three times a high as ours). Our budget three star hotel will never be able to meet up to the standards of these luxurous 5 star hotels.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam, our apologies for not being able to meet up to your high demands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Located within walking distance of museums and restaurants, the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, however the hotel itself is very noisy. Thin walls and floors transmit a lot of noise. The rooms are small, a bit rundown, with minimal amenities. We didn't even have drinking glasses in the room. I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syria
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Upon checking in before 14h one immediately told us that no rooms were available, the receptionist was not very helpful giving little and inaccurate information. We had booked a room and specified that we wanted a king-sized bed and a non smoking room... And we were given a twin-bedded room with an awfully strong cigarette smell! No alternative was given to us apart from opening the window... As for the bed... Had to be a twin! There were loads of cigarette butts and ashes on the tiny "balcony" of sorts. As for the check-out, we were told the luggage room was full and had to leave them in the lobby, when we came back the receptionist didn't even know our luggage were there... Very reassuring! What a terrible stay it was and not that cheap either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.
Our apologies for your bad experience at our hotel. Just like you, each other guest has the right to stay in his/her hotelroom until check-out time (11.00AM). This means that we cannot start cleaning the rooms earlier then 11.00AM if guests do not have an early departure. For this reason we always offer early arrival guests to leave their bags in our storage, we gave you a map and some directions about the city and told the cleaner to clean your room immediately at 11.00AM (so you could enter your room at 12.00 instead of the normal 14.00PM check-in time).

While making your booking, you are able to select a bed PREFERENCE, these requests are always taken in consideration, but are not guaranteed, because your roomtype is named "double/twin room". We managed to gave you a room with twin beds which were next to eachother, but being a small hotel with only 12 twopersonsrooms, we donot have many possibilities.

Regarding the cigarette smell, we hope you accept our sincerest apologies, since 2008 it is by law forbidden to smoke in all Hotels, Restaurants and Cafe's. Unfortunately it still happens that people try to smoke in their hotelroom. We do our best to prevent this with very sensitive smoke alarms and warnings all over, but unfortunately there are some people who ignore all these signs and still try to smoke in their room or on the balcony as in your room.

All by all, we hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing