We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly oasis next to wonders of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #153 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly oasis next to wonders of Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome from all staff, especially Tony and Jay. Large, quiet, warm and clean room overlooking the garden where wild parrots come to roost in the large tree. Special! Perfect location for museums and walking through central Amsterdam. The Festival of Light was in nearby locations and worth seeing soon. Just ask at the reception desk and any requests will be aided. Will recommend to all.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marydoll108
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    250
    99
    29
    14
See reviews for
111
206
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Point, Utah, USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a 22 hour layover in Amsterdam, so planned to go into town and spend the night. We had booked the Hotel Alexander and quite enjoyed it. The location was perfect, close to restaurants and easy to get to from the airport via bus 197. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and just what we needed for one night. They have a delicious breakfast buffet for 10€ each and we thought it was worth it and so convenient for our schedule. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CARG930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel met all of our needs; it was clean, well-situated on a quiet street, and the people behind the desk were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. The room was a pretty good size for a European hotel and there was an elevator up to our floor except for the last half flight. We didn't have the breakfast at all since we bought breakfast food at a grocery store or ate out. We enjoyed walking around Vondelpark which is a short walk from the hotel; very non touristy and a good place to do a lot of people watching. It was a bit of a hike to get to the Joordan area from here but we saw a lot of interesting sights along the way. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3nights from 15-18th Octobet this year with my brother and partner. It's a very comfortable hotel ,all rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely views of either the garden or street, the breakfast has a very good choice of food and good value. Tony and Jay, were very helpful with any requests you have and will printout any trip tickets for you, also recommend great places to eat. The Alexander is in a very good area to get around Amsterdam, I would recommend it to all my friends. Thank you Jay and Tony for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plonkerofcroydonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent location and great reception staff. The very good at orientation, had excellent recommendations and generally were very accommodating. My single room was tiny, but I understand this is normal in Amsterdam. Unreliable Wi-Fi meant I couldn't go on line when I needed to.
No information in the room regarding the hotel or its services, for example that you need to order breakfast - a crucial omission in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mashnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Jay at the Hotel Alexander was very helpful in getting our ticket to the Rijks Museum printed. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the museums, and we had a very quiet room on the top floor. The hotel can be cheaply and easily reached from the Amsterdam airport by taking bus 197 for 4 Euros per person with the stop at Leidseplien (2 blocks from the hotel).

Dick Ottman - White Bear Lake, MN

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small rooms is pretty normal if you're staying anywhere in the canal type building. Alexander was close to the vondlepark area and the big museums and close to bus/trams that could get you to Dam square or any other spot you wanted to get to. This place has newly remodled bathrooms. I think they possibly sacrificed a little of the room space to make the bathroom larger, but I think it was fine. The lobby was very cool and the staff helped us with a lot of good advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#130 of 368 in Amsterdam
877 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 368 in Amsterdam
988 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#127 of 368 in Amsterdam
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,429 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 368 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing