We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #143 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Point, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a 22 hour layover in Amsterdam, so planned to go into town and spend the night. We had booked the Hotel Alexander and quite enjoyed it. The location was perfect, close to restaurants and easy to get to from the airport via bus 197. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and just what we needed for one night. They have a delicious breakfast buffet for 10€ each and we thought it was worth it and so convenient for our schedule. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CARG930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    209
    85
    23
    11
See reviews for
85
172
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel met all of our needs; it was clean, well-situated on a quiet street, and the people behind the desk were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. The room was a pretty good size for a European hotel and there was an elevator up to our floor except for the last half flight. We didn't have the breakfast at all since we bought breakfast food at a grocery store or ate out. We enjoyed walking around Vondelpark which is a short walk from the hotel; very non touristy and a good place to do a lot of people watching. It was a bit of a hike to get to the Joordan area from here but we saw a lot of interesting sights along the way. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3nights from 15-18th Octobet this year with my brother and partner. It's a very comfortable hotel ,all rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely views of either the garden or street, the breakfast has a very good choice of food and good value. Tony and Jay, were very helpful with any requests you have and will printout any trip tickets for you, also recommend great places to eat. The Alexander is in a very good area to get around Amsterdam, I would recommend it to all my friends. Thank you Jay and Tony for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plonkerofcroydonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent location and great reception staff. The very good at orientation, had excellent recommendations and generally were very accommodating. My single room was tiny, but I understand this is normal in Amsterdam. Unreliable Wi-Fi meant I couldn't go on line when I needed to.
No information in the room regarding the hotel or its services, for example that you need to order breakfast - a crucial omission in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mashnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Jay at the Hotel Alexander was very helpful in getting our ticket to the Rijks Museum printed. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the museums, and we had a very quiet room on the top floor. The hotel can be cheaply and easily reached from the Amsterdam airport by taking bus 197 for 4 Euros per person with the stop at Leidseplien (2 blocks from the hotel).

Dick Ottman - White Bear Lake, MN

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small rooms is pretty normal if you're staying anywhere in the canal type building. Alexander was close to the vondlepark area and the big museums and close to bus/trams that could get you to Dam square or any other spot you wanted to get to. This place has newly remodled bathrooms. I think they possibly sacrificed a little of the room space to make the bathroom larger, but I think it was fine. The lobby was very cool and the staff helped us with a lot of good advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was here for three nights as a part of a group.

Plusses -
- Location was fairly close to the Rijksmuseum and to key public transportation
- Rooms were clean and in good working order
- Breakfast was totally adequate

Minuses -
- Rooms were tight by American standards - but still totally adequate

Room Tip: Room 17 was on the 1st floor (1 level up) and overlooking the street... yet very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomDePlume00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#108 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#181 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing