We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel great location”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #157 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location is perfect and the hotel is clean. As in most hotels of this price the rooms are small. Make a point of asking them not too put you in the attic room as its even smaller with the sloping ceiling. Do not let this put you off this is a lovely hotel and the guys on reception could not have been more helpful and kind!

Room Tip: Not the top floor attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 570 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Good place near Amsterdam center. Friendly staff and good rooms. We have stayed in room that has exit in the garden. It's awesome. Also free internet access available in all areas. There are many party places near hotel, also there are some museums.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank name1ess0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Easy to find, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Good choice at breakfast. Room myabe a little small but who needs a big room with the whole of Amsterdm to explore. Would definately stay again, great base to head out from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlelucy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is old-fashioned but very well managed. Staffs are honest, friendly and professionally devoted to their jobs. The hotel was fully booked so I was given their smallest single room but they were honest about it and promised to move my room as soon as any other vacancies available, and they eventullay kept the promise.

Location is great, only 5min walking distance to the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijksmuseum. Plus, on its way, there is a shopping district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKfromSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Alexander in Amsterdam is an excellent tourist hotel. It is located close to metro connections and therefore it is easy to access all parts of the city with a day metro pass. The hotel is a very good place to stay: good service and friendly helpful desk clerks, comfortable although small rooms (remember, you're in Europe!) and excellent showers. The floor and elevator layout was a bit strange but it's an old building retrofitted with the elevator. We thought the breakfast was quite good (they could use a toaster!) and offered with convenient hours. Do NOT use a taxi in Amsterdam unless you have a mobility impairment since the metro system is excellent and extensive. First time visitors to Amsterdam should be VERY CAREFUL to observe bicycle lanes: bicyclists in Amsterdam are absolutely insane and believe they own the road. One of our tour group was struck by a bicyclist.
All in all, a good place to stay in a nice, quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired, ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassplayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location makes up for a lot in this older building, with steep stairs and tiny bath. Bed and bath were clean although shower curtain was dubious. Would recommend only if you do not plan to spend much time in the room. Staff was helpful.

Room Tip: A boxy room with no air conditioning so beware in hot weather. Be mindful of steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickieandDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The area was beautiful and short walk to everything. It was hard getting up the steps into the hotel with suitcases since we are both senors and have some problems with walking. There were more steps to take to get to the room even with the lift. The breakfast was not worth the price. We did buy a tour from the hotel because we could get picked up by the tour company a block away. After the tour, we ended up down town and they did not bring us back. We had to take a taxi back. When we checked out, the young man behind the desk called for our taxi and had the driver to take our suitcases out. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, the staff were exceptional and no problem with noise. The hotel is a beautiful with old world charm.

Room Tip: First floor facing the street was a good location to see the the pretty area around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caboose37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#135 of 375 in Amsterdam
695 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#125 of 375 in Amsterdam
932 reviews
Hotel d'Amsterdam
#191 of 375 in Amsterdam
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#150 of 375 in Amsterdam
411 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#230 of 375 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#165 of 375 in Amsterdam
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $69 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing