We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimal, but clean and with a great location”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #152 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Alexander Hotel in Amsterdam on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there. Our small double room was indeed small, about on par with a cruise ship stateroom, but with a much higher ceiling. The room had no AC, and fortunately for us, the weather was cool enough that the room's wall fan was sufficient to cool off the room from afternoon heat. Our window opened onto the (very narrow) street below, but noise was not an issue.

The double bed was comfortable enough, but jammed against a wall on one side. That was necessary or you would not have been able to turn around in the room. Although we only had carry-ons, there was barely enough floor space for our luggage, but the chiffonier in the room did at least have a working safe.

For the bathroom, you had to literally squeeze past the sink to get into the shower. Towels were thin but serviceable. In keeping with the minimal theme of the place there were only 3 of them and one was a hand towel.

A continental breakfast and wi-fi came with the room and were also minimal, but adequate.

The hotel apparently is formed from several old apartments, since for us the lift stopped at a landing about 6 or 8 steps below our floor. The stairs are narrow and steep, requiring some care in traversing them. On the other hand, hotel staff are helpful and friendly, storing our luggage under lock and key when we arrived well before check in. The hotel also is able to summon cabs on short notice, with a fixed and reasonable price for getting to the airport (our cab came within 5 minutes of being called).

Stateside I would have rated this facility 2 stars, but here it gets another star for being in such a good location. A short walk in one direction takes you to the wonders of museum square and Vondel park, and in the other to where tram lines take you to town center. We chose to walk everywhere since none of the distances are daunting. In particular, from the hotel Vondelstraat becomes Leidseplein becomes Leidsestraat, etc and within 1/2 mile you reach the flower market. From there you are an easy walk from any number of more centrally located Amsterdam attractions. Be warned that bicyclists in Amsterdam pay little attention to pedestrians (I saw one woman hit by a bicyclist, not serious, but it could have been), so when walking pay particular attention to the bicycle lanes and always be on the lookout for wayward cyclists where there aren't bike lanes.

If you are looking to hold down costs on an Amsterdam visit and plan to be mostly out and about, this is a fine choice. Everything in our room was clean and operational, but should I return in the future I will admit that I will probably seek to stay in a better appointed facility.

Room Tip: Skip the small double rooms if you have much in the way of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 565 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the garden rooms, a nice size quadruple room with bath. There was wi-fi available. The lobby is atop a flight of stairs, which was not a problem for us since we had 2 small carry on. The Hotel staff speaks English, as do most people in Amsterdam, and were very helpful with tips and suggestions. The Hotel is a short walking distance from the center of town, restaurants and the Rijksmuseum. We choose not to have breakfast at the Hotel (Eu. 10 per person) and found alternative accommodations, which turned out to be equally expensive and not so great.

The garden outside our room was a large green oasis and offered tables and chairs. However groups of young people hang out there drinking beer and smoking funny stuff, but everybody keeps for himself and we never felt threatened.

The Hotel lobby is clean and comfortable, with desktops and printing available to guests. They offer bike rental, which some may find useful to move around town.

We had the impression that anything not attached or locked up can and will be stolen in Amsterdam. We saw bikes with monster locks and chains, probably more expensive than the locked bike itself. The city and the canals are pretty dirty, with trash apparently left by drunk revelers everywhere. Cleaning crews are very efficient, constantly picking up trash and keeping the city as clean as possible.

Overall this is a good hotel, not particularly cheap, but Amsterdam is an expensive city. Location is great, close to everything and in a safe neighborhood. Would recommend to all travelers, including families with children, as us.

Room Tip: Outside our room people congregated in the garden to drink, talk and smoke stuff. If uncomfortable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were four so we were assigned one of the rooms located outside in the patio. The beds were nice, clean, in quiet corner. In the morning there were parrots up in the patio trees! (yes, parrots) - the street is quiet and safe and within minutes from one of the main squares Leidensplein.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first trip to Amsterdam and the Alexander was within walking distance to a lot of attractions and places to eat. I arrived at 11a.m. on July 22nd. well before the check in time of 2pm. I was greeted by Jay who told me my room was ready, I was relieved to here this, because of the jet lag from Canada. All I wanted to do was catch a cat nap! The single room was small with a large window that opened partially, a fan, a small desk and chair, an armoire that was tall a very narrow. There were no shelves anywhere, nor a dresser. The washroom was adequate, with hand soap and shower soap in a squeeze bottle, no shampoo. Since I was travelling solo and only stayed 3 nights. I really have no complaints about the hotel. If you are going to the airport, you can take the 197 bus directly to the airport for 4 euros. You can get the bus at the tram stop directly in front of the American Hotel, a very short walk from the Alexander Hotel. The bus runs every 15 min.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griff21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel in a quiet street. We had a garden room. As others have said, the rooms are small and the staff are friendly. There is a great pancake restaurant for breakfast nearby or you can eat at the hotel for 10 euros each. The hotel is close to Vondelpark and Leidseplein (restaurants) and museums. We walked or used the trams to around.

Thank JoolsReading
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is in a great area, within 5 min walk to park and shopping.
Quiet area so perfect with young kids. There is so much walking involved in the city but the hotel is situated in a great area. Plentiful breakfast, very euro-typical. Clean patio area where you can rest and enjoy the weather. Helpful staff!
Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to the dam a lot and this was easily the best hotel i have stayed in. Room was small but clean, bed was comfy and the shower had good pressure (do you really need anything else in a hotel?). you can rent bikes from the hotel which is handy, location is pretty good however we are not in the Leidesplein scene and the area behind doesn't offer much in the way of quiet local bars. you can get a bus to Leidesplein directly from the airport. Much easier than train and tram and only 4 euros each. Do it. .You won't get better for the price.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel which was nice. the street is very quiet so probably doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#128 of 373 in Amsterdam
690 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#125 of 373 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#228 of 373 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Amsterdam
#189 of 373 in Amsterdam
326 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#115 of 373 in Amsterdam
885 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#85 of 373 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing