We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Alexander
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ragusa, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the garden rooms, a nice size quadruple room with bath. There was wi-fi available. The lobby is atop a flight of stairs, which was not a problem for us since we had 2 small carry on. The Hotel staff speaks English, as do most people in Amsterdam, and were very helpful with tips and suggestions. The Hotel is a short walking distance from the center of town, restaurants and the Rijksmuseum. We choose not to have breakfast at the Hotel (Eu. 10 per person) and found alternative accommodations, which turned out to be equally expensive and not so great.

The garden outside our room was a large green oasis and offered tables and chairs. However groups of young people hang out there drinking beer and smoking funny stuff, but everybody keeps for himself and we never felt threatened.

The Hotel lobby is clean and comfortable, with desktops and printing available to guests. They offer bike rental, which some may find useful to move around town.

We had the impression that anything not attached or locked up can and will be stolen in Amsterdam. We saw bikes with monster locks and chains, probably more expensive than the locked bike itself. The city and the canals are pretty dirty, with trash apparently left by drunk revelers everywhere. Cleaning crews are very efficient, constantly picking up trash and keeping the city as clean as possible.

Overall this is a good hotel, not particularly cheap, but Amsterdam is an expensive city. Location is great, close to everything and in a safe neighborhood. Would recommend to all travelers, including families with children, as us.

Room Tip: Outside our room people congregated in the garden to drink, talk and smoke stuff. If uncomfortable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    210
    85
    23
    11
See reviews for
85
173
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were four so we were assigned one of the rooms located outside in the patio. The beds were nice, clean, in quiet corner. In the morning there were parrots up in the patio trees! (yes, parrots) - the street is quiet and safe and within minutes from one of the main squares Leidensplein.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first trip to Amsterdam and the Alexander was within walking distance to a lot of attractions and places to eat. I arrived at 11a.m. on July 22nd. well before the check in time of 2pm. I was greeted by Jay who told me my room was ready, I was relieved to here this, because of the jet lag from Canada. All I wanted to do was catch a cat nap! The single room was small with a large window that opened partially, a fan, a small desk and chair, an armoire that was tall a very narrow. There were no shelves anywhere, nor a dresser. The washroom was adequate, with hand soap and shower soap in a squeeze bottle, no shampoo. Since I was travelling solo and only stayed 3 nights. I really have no complaints about the hotel. If you are going to the airport, you can take the 197 bus directly to the airport for 4 euros. You can get the bus at the tram stop directly in front of the American Hotel, a very short walk from the Alexander Hotel. The bus runs every 15 min.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griff21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel in a quiet street. We had a garden room. As others have said, the rooms are small and the staff are friendly. There is a great pancake restaurant for breakfast nearby or you can eat at the hotel for 10 euros each. The hotel is close to Vondelpark and Leidseplein (restaurants) and museums. We walked or used the trams to around.

Helpful?
Thank JoolsReading
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great area, within 5 min walk to park and shopping.
Quiet area so perfect with young kids. There is so much walking involved in the city but the hotel is situated in a great area. Plentiful breakfast, very euro-typical. Clean patio area where you can rest and enjoy the weather. Helpful staff!
Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to the dam a lot and this was easily the best hotel i have stayed in. Room was small but clean, bed was comfy and the shower had good pressure (do you really need anything else in a hotel?). you can rent bikes from the hotel which is handy, location is pretty good however we are not in the Leidesplein scene and the area behind doesn't offer much in the way of quiet local bars. you can get a bus to Leidesplein directly from the airport. Much easier than train and tram and only 4 euros each. Do it. .You won't get better for the price.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel which was nice. the street is very quiet so probably doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First thing I noticed when I arrived at this hotel was the service of the staff. A very friendly and helpfull asian-looking man asked if this was my first time in Amsterdam and advised me many good places to visit here. I enjoyed my stay over here and the location is quite central. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yalin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing