We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beware the Stairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beware the Stairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros. The pros include the location (close to the Leidesplein with its shopping and restaurants) the lovely lobby and courtyard, and the outstanding staff. The cons include the unreliable wi-fi (particularly annoying for a business traveler), towels that, although clean, appear to be relics from the 1960's, and the fact that the lift actually stops in between floors. This means that you will be heaving your luggage up and down at least seven steep stairs; or, if like me. you are on the top floor, you will be lugging up and down a very steep 14 steps. Add to that the flight of seven to get in the front door, and you see the point of my title. If you are young and fit, with a strong back and no need for wi-fi, this may be the place for you. Also, Rick Steves' photographer stayed there while I was there, so what do I know?!?

Room Tip: Top floor for fitness buffs, only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PainAuChocolat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    219
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
179
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We did not try the breakfast, but it looked very nice. What we really appreciated was the hotel staff's help and advice on how to get around Amsterdam to see all the sites.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel and was very quiet, even with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alexander for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The managing brothers were very helpful and the young female receptionist was extremely personable and lovely to deal with. We were in the small double room which included breakfast in the room rate, and found this to be an excellent inclusion. We didn't need to worry about going out to eat each morning. The room was small, but we knew this in advance, so we were very pleased with the high ceilings and large, airy windows overlooking the quiet street. We are of the opinion that a hotel is for sleeping and showering, and these facilities were great. Our time in Amsterdam was wonderful, and the great location allowed us to truly make the most of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melsie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time when I'm in Hotel Alexander. Hotel is located quite close to the city. Restaurants are close. Only 5 minutes walk to a wide selection of restaurants and bars.

Museums are also very close and Vondelpark is only a few minutes walk away.

Hotel room was clean with a "terrace". Great room for 4 persons.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann3_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

You only want to live at this hotel because of the good location near Leidseplein - not if you want a hotel with a good standard. The hotel is in itself not worth the price. I had a very small single room, a bad bed, not very clean room, and I had to tell the receptionist that shampoo and shower gel was missing!
Walls must be thin as I could easily hear guests talking from the other rooms.
The female receptionist was not very helpful, and she didn't even live in Amsterdam....

Just be sure to check out other hotels in the area before you decide for hotel Alexander.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have spent one night during PLMA. Hotel location is good very central. Price were high for the quality given.
Rooms were dirty , towels were not clean and bathroom was dirty.
Room Key was problematic and I had to go up and down to open the door.

The people working in the reception were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: In case your room is in the last floor check if the door key is functionning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigdem113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel, had a room with 4 beds, for our whole family. The room was just under the reception/breakfast area, so we heard every step above us early morning. the breakfast was excellent, i missed the eggs thou. the staff is really friendly, and helpful, and speak almost all languages:) there is free wifi. the hotel is located in a quiet street, but just at the corner you have already the city center. at the other end of the street you have the museum quartier, and also the area with a lot of restaurants. i would return to the hotel, and would recommend it to my family and friends also.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter than the ones below the entrance level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing