We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good stay here!”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #157 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Amsterdam for four nights, we felt really at home at the Alexander hotel. We had room 31, which was a nice room (very decent size for Amsterdam standards), a nice bathroom and it was very clean!!

We were able to walk to all interesting locations, I think 35 minutes was the longest walk from the hotel and then we are already on the other side of Amsterdam centre, so actually nothing is further away than half an hour walking. Amsterdam is a great and beautiful city!! Visit and stay at Hotel Alexander.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 551 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really kind staff, perfect location, good rates, just as it should be! I found this hotel on Booking.com, but called the hotel because I donot have a credit card. It turned out that they provide a better rate as well when you book with them directly, so it worked out great for me, i would definitely reccommend this hotel to any other visitors to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank France M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

GREAT location, on quiet street away from all the noise of the city but walk for 2 minutes and your back on the main street again! right next to vondelpark and van gogh (when we were here it had been moved to up to near dam square due to renovations) anne franks house is 15 min walk away down a nice canal walk and heineken exp is also very close.

Man behind reception was lovely and full of information. Knew everything we needed to know! Breakfast was lovely too, buffet! room was small but had everything we needed and was spotless. Hotel has free WIFI too with good signal! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is just around the corner from Leidseplein, a handy little transport hub where some useful tram and bus lines cross. It's close to the museum quarter and to the airport bus (no. 197) and a 5-minute tram ride to Dam Square, for instance, so location-wise it's excellent. The room I booked was a single, long and narrow with high ceilings. I was very tired that day and slept for nearly 12 hours so I have no complaints at all about the room, which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was warm as well, despite the freezing weather, so another plus.
I didn't book for breakfast so can't say how that was, but sure, most hotel breakfasts are the same these days anyway. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful.
Finally, I managed to get a really good (albeit non-refundable) price for this room online, which was a real bargain. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back; make sure you turn the radiator on yourself, as it may be off when you a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early February. Although the city was cold during our trip, the hotel was a nice escape from the cold streets. The staff were always friendly and said hello as we came and went. Our room included breakfast which was always full and filling. Our room was #31 on the fourth floor. The room was small, but compared to our recent stay at an EasyHotel in London, this room was huge!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmayovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our second stay at Hotel Alexander. Room is European size but confortable. Nice breakfast in the lobby each day. Staff were super helpful with tips and recommendations. Good internet connection. We would stay here on our next visit. Easy walk to transit, restaurants, and Vondel Park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyv43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
893 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#134 of 371 in Amsterdam
673 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,452 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $115 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing