We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #153 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really kind staff, perfect location, good rates, just as it should be! I found this hotel on Booking.com, but called the hotel because I donot have a credit card. It turned out that they provide a better rate as well when you book with them directly, so it worked out great for me, i would definitely reccommend this hotel to any other visitors to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    227
    93
    27
    12
See reviews for
96
192
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

GREAT location, on quiet street away from all the noise of the city but walk for 2 minutes and your back on the main street again! right next to vondelpark and van gogh (when we were here it had been moved to up to near dam square due to renovations) anne franks house is 15 min walk away down a nice canal walk and heineken exp is also very close.

Man behind reception was lovely and full of information. Knew everything we needed to know! Breakfast was lovely too, buffet! room was small but had everything we needed and was spotless. Hotel has free WIFI too with good signal! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is just around the corner from Leidseplein, a handy little transport hub where some useful tram and bus lines cross. It's close to the museum quarter and to the airport bus (no. 197) and a 5-minute tram ride to Dam Square, for instance, so location-wise it's excellent. The room I booked was a single, long and narrow with high ceilings. I was very tired that day and slept for nearly 12 hours so I have no complaints at all about the room, which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was warm as well, despite the freezing weather, so another plus.
I didn't book for breakfast so can't say how that was, but sure, most hotel breakfasts are the same these days anyway. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful.
Finally, I managed to get a really good (albeit non-refundable) price for this room online, which was a real bargain. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back; make sure you turn the radiator on yourself, as it may be off when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early February. Although the city was cold during our trip, the hotel was a nice escape from the cold streets. The staff were always friendly and said hello as we came and went. Our room included breakfast which was always full and filling. Our room was #31 on the fourth floor. The room was small, but compared to our recent stay at an EasyHotel in London, this room was huge!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmayovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our second stay at Hotel Alexander. Room is European size but confortable. Nice breakfast in the lobby each day. Staff were super helpful with tips and recommendations. Good internet connection. We would stay here on our next visit. Easy walk to transit, restaurants, and Vondel Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyv43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location. Easy bus ride from the airport Just blocks away from the museums and down the street from the Leidesplein. Also a few blocks from Vondel park. The street is quiet and residential. The hotel was very nice and the room very clean. Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0417Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#97 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#141 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing