We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is just around the corner from Leidseplein, a handy little transport hub where some useful tram and bus lines cross. It's close to the museum quarter and to the airport bus (no. 197) and a 5-minute tram ride to Dam Square, for instance, so location-wise it's excellent. The room I booked was a single, long and narrow with high ceilings. I was very tired that day and slept for nearly 12 hours so I have no complaints at all about the room, which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was warm as well, despite the freezing weather, so another plus.
I didn't book for breakfast so can't say how that was, but sure, most hotel breakfasts are the same these days anyway. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful.
Finally, I managed to get a really good (albeit non-refundable) price for this room online, which was a real bargain. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back; make sure you turn the radiator on yourself, as it may be off when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    219
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
179
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early February. Although the city was cold during our trip, the hotel was a nice escape from the cold streets. The staff were always friendly and said hello as we came and went. Our room included breakfast which was always full and filling. Our room was #31 on the fourth floor. The room was small, but compared to our recent stay at an EasyHotel in London, this room was huge!

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmayovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our second stay at Hotel Alexander. Room is European size but confortable. Nice breakfast in the lobby each day. Staff were super helpful with tips and recommendations. Good internet connection. We would stay here on our next visit. Easy walk to transit, restaurants, and Vondel Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyv43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very nice hotel with a great location. Easy bus ride from the airport Just blocks away from the museums and down the street from the Leidesplein. Also a few blocks from Vondel park. The street is quiet and residential. The hotel was very nice and the room very clean. Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0417Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is roomy as compared to London. We enjoyed a family room which had 4 single beds, a garden view and a large bathroom area with a great shower, hair dryer, etc. breakfast was not included in the price. There was a great coffee machine in the lobby area but no coffee in the room. The owners were helpful and very nice. We were able to check in early as rooms were available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesjeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I would not recommend this to anyone. The room was realy bad, in the backyard, with tile plates on the walls. The whole hotel didn't seem very clean and they did not change the bed sheets during my stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mknordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
Too bad to hear that you were not satisfied about our hotel. Our apologies for not being able to meet up to your high standards. In the end we are still a budget three star hotel. Regarding your room, we apologize for not having booked the right room for you. Your room is actually very many requested requested specifically, because guests enjoy having a room with their own private backyard right in front of the door. Also these are the most quiet rooms, because you have no neighbours above you and just 1 neighbour beside you.

For the next time please contact us directly when you are not satisfied about a room, placing a negative review afterwards, does not turn back time. We always do our upper best to satisfy our guests and to maintain a good and nice hotel with happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights, and was very impressed. I had a single room, so it wasn't massive, but was well laid out and had a decent sized comfortable bed. Room and bathroom were both clean and well presented. The room also had a small fridge.

There was some noise from people moving around above, but otherwise really quiet.

Location is very handy, it's just a short walk from Leidseplein where there are plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes etc, plus very easy to hop onto the tram system. Also just 5 minutes walk to Museumplein.

Breakfast is available at 10 euros, but I didn't bother as it was really east to nip out for something

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james45654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing