We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location-great staff”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #154 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Spent a few days at the Hotel Alexander. Great location and a very accommodating staff. They were very helpful and had very good dinner recommendations. Our room overlooked the street and was quite comfortable with a large private bath. Only shortcoming was free wifi was only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room overlooking the street, worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseyshoreartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

we stayed here for NYE 2010/11 great staff and location was perfect just outside the main streets but very good walking distance very clean and had everything you needed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PresleyAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I just finished a long weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at the Alexander Hotel based on recommendations from TripAdvisor. I even got the dreaded "basement room" that others warned about, but I have to say it wasn't as bad as I feared. I stayed there with two other people. I made my reservations late and when I checked in and was told my room number I immediately asked for a different room on a higher floor. I was told it was not possible as they did not have an available room with three beds for the weekend. So, I gave it a shot. The room was a good size and had three beds and a TV (although we could never get the TV to work). The basement room had windows that opened to the street but provided a good amount of light. The bathroom was big, the shower was large, no issues with hot water. And I have to say that the street was so quiet that we actually slept with the windows open and were fine even in the basement room.

I was in room 1. I personally think those basement rooms would be better than the rooms on floor zero that get everyone walking by them to get to the stairs or elevators.

The staff when we got there was great. They provided a map, told us where to walk, wrote on the map and made suggestions of what to do and what days to do them so it wouldn't be as crowded. Throughout the weekend they were all very nice and helpful.

The breakfast was a typical European breakfast. A little light for 10 Euros but nothing unlike what I have seen at just about every other hotel I've stayed at in Europe. I will say that one day we came in with only 15 mins left in breakfast and they were kind in putting more food out and baking more bread for us. Again, great staff.

The only downside is that the WiFi did not work. It is close to the city but probably the furthest on that street.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to others going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Don't be misled by the "Museum Quarter" and think it's far from everything else you want to see. It was better priced than the central hotels and a very easy walk all over the city! Highly recommend this hotel. The room is very small but you should be in there much if you're touring!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank HeatherMarie511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Excellent stay at the Alexander !! Reception staff (Look alike brothers) First class ! Nothing was to much bother,upgraded to a standard room (small is small in Amsterdam) which was nice and clean and quiet at night, which is a plus in a city.Great position(5 min walk from Leidenspline) Breakfast was good (continental) cheese,ham.bread etc.Free WI-Fi in lobby area,or you can pay to use there's in your room,and also on there PC's in reception. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Go for standard rooms as small room are small.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was ideal for families visiting Amsterdam. Big familyrooms, nice breakfast, quiet surroundings and very friendly staff. We will definitly come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Alexander is a well-located hotel in one of the old buildings in town, meaning that it is a narrow and tall place. This also applies to the rooms which are narrow and tall, do not expect a lot of extra space. This is common for all such hotels though.

I stayed in room 15 which was unfortunately situated directly off the stairwell, and the stairs are very noisy. Also all the noise from the lobby carried up through the thin door, making this more like a hostel experience in that regard. Earplugs were a must.

The room was basically clean, but was starting to show its age. Especially the grouting in the shower would need replacing.

Like almost all Amsterdam hotels, the Alexander is overpriced and overrated for what it actually offers, and it would not be ranked as a three star establishment for example in the Nordic countries.

With these things things in mind, it is still a recommendable hotel thanks to its location, the fair service and the acceptable quality of its rooms. Just make sure you reserve yours high up and away from the stairwell.

Room Tip: Away from the stairwell, as high up as you can get.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#130 of 371 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#136 of 371 in Amsterdam
675 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#135 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,349 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing