We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel centrally located in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel centrally located in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

A really nice and relatively new Hotel located on IJDock about 10 mins walk from Amsterdam's Central Station which provides easy access to train connecting Schiphol airport with Amsterdam's central part (Euros 5 one way by train compared to Euros 60 by taxi). Spacious, clean rooms with full front glas windows overlooking the dock. Restaurant in house. Hotel rents out bicycles which is the best way to explore Amsterdam. Excellent staff support and service. I don't write reviews very often, but this Hotel has made my stay worthwhile. Kudos!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    883
    173
    43
    16
See reviews for
379
1,463
90
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed in Room Mate Aitana for 6 nights. Its location is very convenient to the Central Station - just a 10 minutes walk along the harbor. However, the location is a bit apart from the city, it's not part of any neighborhood, though it's only another 10 min walk to get to the canals and Jordaan areas.
Rooms are great - large and bright and modern. Our room was on the 9th floor, facing another building. Not much of a view but really quiet, we did not hear another sound from anywhere - inside or outside during out stay. There was a safe and a tea kettle in the room.
Bathroom is also very modern with large shower and plenty of room for the toiletries. The hotel supplies shampoo, lotion, shower gel, but no hair conditioner, no "vanity kit" and no facial tissues.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fine - variety of breads, sweets, hot items, deli meats and cheeses, yogurt, cereal, very nice selection of teas. There seemed to be a way to order omelets, eggs etc, but we didn't try it. The buffet got very busy on the weekend with not enough staff to clean the tables and to renew items in the buffets, The weekdays were fine.
The clerks in reception were very helpful, but they did not have any special/prepared information on the attractions/things to see. They were however very prepared to google the answer to my question (I asked about touring the Waterland without a bike) for me.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in Room Mate Aitana.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

It's a nice hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff.
For me personally it's a bit too far away from the centre, it was a bit of a walk back to the hotel from the bars/restaurants etc.
The hotel bar was a little inadequate and quiet. But that may well be a benefit for some.
It was only a short walk from the station which was a real benefit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very modern hotel with excellent English speaking staff
Rooms are large and very clean with a kingsize bed you don't want to get out of.
Upgraded FOC to harbour view room.
10 min walk to centre of Amsterdam town and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Witton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package for a weekend in Amsterdam for a wedding. It included flights from Durham Tees Airport and only two nights. I don't think we could have made a better choice for value, location and service. A very modern new hotel with views over Amsterdam from our upgraded room, which served a very comprehensive breakfast until 12 noon - I wish more places would serve breakfast until that time! Very helpful and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Book it as. Part of a package very good value compared with hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hi Stayed end of July, as per previous reviews very modern clean hotel, went for my partners 50th with 4 other couples, picked this hotel due to size and location, 15min walk from central stn. this is a good choice for a group getaway or a romantic break. when you compare the price against other hotels in Amsterdam this was good value. would recommend the hop on hop off boat trip starts from outside central station. We booked a private walking tour for 3 hours very good, you can hire bikes from hotel but this is a great walking city. it is a 10min walk to the canals of Amsterdam, the trams are easy to use, get a map and you will be ok. Didn't book B and B used the bagel shop opposite very good. The pontoon at the back of the hotel is great for a G and T before you head out for the evening. went to Max restaurant, Indonesian, International, very good a nice walk from hotel. would defiantly use again.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonboy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spend some nights in the hotel and that was really wonderful. You can watch the sunset and the city buildings from the high floor just lying in the bed and smoking some weed carefully.

The hotel is surrounded by the river where actually stands on the artificial island. The aura of the hotel is fresh and trendy, feeling - very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing