We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Aitana is the perfect hotel, very cleaned and well maintained but most remarkable is the staff, everyone up to management is very kind, helpful and attentive. Check in was smooth and for a small supplement i was offered a room with view which was great.

Restaurant service just average and has to be improved, however i was told it is managed by an external company therefore i will not comment it here.

I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    739
    141
    34
    12
See reviews for
302
1,177
77
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
502 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I very much agree with the previous reviewer 'a long way to go' except that I think that most of the matters raised are teething problems which often happens with new hotels. It took us 35 minutes to check in, the room was not cleaned until nearly 5 pm on each of our 4 nights there and this was not at all convenient. On the plus side I loved the design of the hotel , the staff were extemely helpful and the room was good ( though a bath would have been nice and though there was a balcony you couldn't get on it). I enjoyed my stay here and was not sorry I chose it though it is a little less central than I had expected.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Lovely modern hotel. Lovely staff. Nice bagel place right opposite (handy for breakfast). Bit of a walk into town but it was no problem. Lovely shampoo in the room too. I asked the room cleaner if they sold it but she said they don't. Such a shame :-(.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenZJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The philosophy of Room Mate Hotels, a relatively new Spanish chain, says their hotels are “not saturated with extras and services that are seldom used.” That’s fine if the price is right, but for an average of about $250 a night for one person, here’s how it affected my two day stay:

Over a 20 minute wait to check in, partly because hotel policy is to answer any questions after guests have checked in, since there is no concierge (“an extra?)

I needed some ice and looked for an ice bucket – none, and called the front desk to be told it is hotel policy not to put ice buckets in the rooms, yet there are ice machines on every other floor… Odd, yes, but not if you see ice buckets as “…seldom used extras…”

I looked for a room service menu; didn’t find one, called and when one was finally brought, I noted this: “dishes and drinks will be served in disposables.” – clearly proper dishes (and room service itself) are seen as another “extra that is seldom used.”

When the TV did not work, I called and was told the maintenance person was not available, but someone would be up to help. 30 minute later, someone showed up. There was indeed something wrong, and the person managed to fix it.

At breakfast the next morning, I noted an egg station, but no one manning it. During my 35 minutes at breakfast, there was no one there to make eggs. And at one point when I went to get a 2nd glass of juice, I came back to find my plate taken away, though I had not finished.

After all this began to mount up I asked to speak to management - not possible - instead I was directed to a junior guest relations person who apologized and said my comments would be “passed on” to management.

This hotel, given the prices paid, could do well to take on some of those extras and services they believe are “seldom used.”

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear hypefreetravel,

Thank you for giving such a candid and exhaustive review of your stay with us. As I assured you when I spoke to you in person, which was already after your stay unfortunately, I don't feel your experience reflects the experience we want our guests to have. The things you comment on don't necessarily reflect our philosophy, but are more a result of a number of things happening that should not have happened. I would again like to apologize for that.

We welcome all feedback as it can help us improve our product, and I can assure you we are taking your comments to heart. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Amsterdam.

I hope the e-mail I sent you after your departure has found you in good order. If not I cordially invite you to contact me directly on below contact details.

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I loved every minute of my stay in Room Mate, staff very kind and helpful with great attitude, rooms and public areas are very clean. Lot of suggestions from the reception about museum and night life.

Very special design, different than traditional hotels,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filippo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Dear all

I have been at Aitana Room Mate Hotel for two days for business reasons. I have discover a nice beautiful hotel, very well located and modern one. Probably The best hotel in Amsterdam, for any reason you go there.

For many reasons is a very special hotel for me, but I want to remark its team. All members has been top class! Thank you for your work and sympathy!

I specially want to remark to ADRIANA, our Angel of Guard, allways on duty for us and giving The best service and friendship.

Thank you all, and best wishes!

Fernando Ramos

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you like modern, quiet, larger rooms, very good and friendly service, this is the place. Especially after an overnight flight. The hotel is isolated on an island, away from traffic (and bicycles), yet a few minutes walk to everything. The restaurant was very good in the evening and the bagel shop across the street was great for breakfast. Unless you are looking for the romantic look ( and lack of comfort) of an old hotel, this is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing