We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Modern Hotel But Lacks Many Neccessities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Modern Hotel But Lacks Many Neccessities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very clean and beds okay. No soap dish on sink (messy with no where to put soap) nor towel bar or ring for a hand towel in bathroom. Night stand not within reach... no comfortable chairs in room... really needed something comfy for older guests in rooms and in lounges. Food in dining room was excellent - small servings at fair prices. With one exception, the staff at this hotel were all very helpful. There was one rather rude and arrogant young woman who appeared to be the boss of the waiters in the dining room. Hopefully, someone will bring this to management's attention as it was a real turn off for pleasant dining.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear TravelwithBarb,

thank you for sharing your thought on your stay in our hotel! We love to get feedback from our guests, especially if it is well thought out and presented such as you have. The 4 star review you gave us indicates that you thought your stay was good but not perfect, which is also reflected in some of the improvement points you raise! I would like to thank you for these points and would also like to inform you that we are already taking steps in improving, most notably by adding extra towel bars and hooks in our bathrooms.
Your remark about the service in restaurant I-dock will be passed on to it's management, which is separately managed from Room Mate Aitana.

Thank you again for being our guest and for the feedback provided. I hope we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam?

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    829
    157
    37
    14
See reviews for
348
1,313
85
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed here in March for my 18th birthday and what a treat this hotel was!

It's close to pretty much everything you'd want ito see whilst staying in Amsterdam.

Getting there was so easy, we got the train from Schipol Airport to Central Station for €4.50pp.
Don't do what we did and waste€5 in a taxi because the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station (just walk left)!

It is such a stunning building - right on the water. The rooms are beautiful and feel so luxurious!

-I'd definitely advise anyone who hasn't been to Amsterdam before to stay for 3 nights at least as we stayed for 2 & would have liked to see more of this great city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Molllll,

what a pleasure reading your review of your stay in Aitana! To be called a 'fabulous hotel' makes us all proud! Thank you for sharing your experience and hopefully we can welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels?

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in a corner room on the highest floor and it had the nicest views of amsterdam you could wish for. the staff were absolutely superb. The hotel is 10 mins walk from amsterdam station but once you have stayed here you will not want to stay in the city centre - we definately recommend to stay in this calm oasis of a hotel after a day in the busy centre of amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room for the best views. corner rooms have views of the city and of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

i am not a review freak but this hotel exceeded my expectations from the moment i checked in until i left. Hotel staff is great and rooms very cleaned. We had just a small problem with the restaurant but Massimo, on site director was very helpful and professional, he helped us and solved it turning our stay in a truly great experience.
for me it is a 10+

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel with big, modern and clean rooms not that expensive compared to small hotels located right in the center of Amsterdam I totally recommend it; we just had an issue during the check-in: they didn't find one of the reservations that was already paid! fortunately I printed it at home so the receptionist took it and disappeard for about 10 minutes, when she finally returned said that they "had found it", but I think they just had available rooms so they gave us one. The people that were with another receptionist next to us had the same issue, so it maybe a systematic problem they need to pay attention to. Recommendation: take a printed copy of your reservation with you.
The breakfast has a lot of variety but is on the pricy side for an average tourist.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Some kind of administrative fudge-up was made when we booked, so staff upgraded us to a suite for the weekend (which was fantastic as it was our wedding anniversary.) We never got to see the standard rooms, so I can't comment, but the suite itself was fantastic - far too roomy for just two people. although I'm not complaining!

Lovely view of the canals (I suspect most of the rooms had this view) the room itself was very clean, bed very comfortable - the wi-fi cut out depending on where you were in the room but I suspect this probably wouldn't affect most of the normal rooms.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable - all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is in a perfect area, in my opinion - easy walking distance to the station and the centre, but just out of the way enough to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkehsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing