We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“best hotel in amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best hotel in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in a corner room on the highest floor and it had the nicest views of amsterdam you could wish for. the staff were absolutely superb. The hotel is 10 mins walk from amsterdam station but once you have stayed here you will not want to stay in the city centre - we definately recommend to stay in this calm oasis of a hotel after a day in the busy centre of amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room for the best views. corner rooms have views of the city and of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    738
    141
    34
    12
See reviews for
301
1,176
77
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

i am not a review freak but this hotel exceeded my expectations from the moment i checked in until i left. Hotel staff is great and rooms very cleaned. We had just a small problem with the restaurant but Massimo, on site director was very helpful and professional, he helped us and solved it turning our stay in a truly great experience.
for me it is a 10+

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel with big, modern and clean rooms not that expensive compared to small hotels located right in the center of Amsterdam I totally recommend it; we just had an issue during the check-in: they didn't find one of the reservations that was already paid! fortunately I printed it at home so the receptionist took it and disappeard for about 10 minutes, when she finally returned said that they "had found it", but I think they just had available rooms so they gave us one. The people that were with another receptionist next to us had the same issue, so it maybe a systematic problem they need to pay attention to. Recommendation: take a printed copy of your reservation with you.
The breakfast has a lot of variety but is on the pricy side for an average tourist.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Some kind of administrative fudge-up was made when we booked, so staff upgraded us to a suite for the weekend (which was fantastic as it was our wedding anniversary.) We never got to see the standard rooms, so I can't comment, but the suite itself was fantastic - far too roomy for just two people. although I'm not complaining!

Lovely view of the canals (I suspect most of the rooms had this view) the room itself was very clean, bed very comfortable - the wi-fi cut out depending on where you were in the room but I suspect this probably wouldn't affect most of the normal rooms.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable - all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is in a perfect area, in my opinion - easy walking distance to the station and the centre, but just out of the way enough to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkehsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous new hotel. . Huge comfy bed. . Lovely bathroom and the room in general was very nice. Friendly staff and very reasonable for what we paid. Only slight grumble is it is a bit further away from the Centraal station than stated.. it is probably 'as the crow flies' rather than taking into account you have to walk right around the peir to get there. That is the ONLY very small negative. I would stay again and have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jemma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights at the Room Mate Aitana and overall it was a very good experience. The hotel is 8 months old, so everything is new and fresh. The design is contemporary, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Ours was on the 7th floor, large, quiet, well appointed, with nice views to the canal and Jordaan. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were average, at best.

Hotel location is great for a short stay, but after six days of sightseeing on foot, the hike to the hotel got a bit too much. The hotel is about 12 minutes away from the Central Station which is also Amsterdam's transport hub. There is no public transport closer to the hotel. There are also no restaurants or shops in the immediate vicinity - the walk into the city is also about 12 minutes away. There are a couple of shortcuts: to get to the hotel from Central Station, exit from the side of the marina - you'll see a Subway restaurant in front and to the left; take a left turn and follow the path along the canal, cross the bridge and continue till you reach a waive-like brudge on the left - cross the bridge and walk to the white square building (Palace of Justice), then turn left, walk another 50-60 m and you are at the entrance of the hotel. To get to the city, do the same - walk to the Palace of Justice, cross the bridge and you will see across the road a tunnel. Cross the street, walk under the tunnel, cross the bridge and you will find yourself surrounded by eateries and shops. There is a decent supermarket to the left of the bridge and the cheese shop on the left corner offers excellent sandwiches and traditional sweets (try the apple strudel).

You can have breakfast (€17.5 pp) or dine at the hotel, but I think there are many better options - there is no shortage of good food at decent prices around the city.

Staff at the hotel were quite helpful. Check-in can be slow. At check in I noted that the room rate I booked online differed very significantly from the one the hotel was going to charge us. The receptionist made some phone calls and the matter was rectified.

Little things make a difference: shampoo was not replaced for three days (thankfully, we carry our own toiletries). It was a bit of a mystery what and when gets replaced - including the towels. I am sure if we asked the hotel would've assisted, but these are things that should be routinely provided in a 4 star establishment.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel for a short stay. Hopefully the few service issues will be ironed out.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Saltywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Hotel De Hallen
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing