We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

i am not a review freak but this hotel exceeded my expectations from the moment i checked in until i left. Hotel staff is great and rooms very cleaned. We had just a small problem with the restaurant but Massimo, on site director was very helpful and professional, he helped us and solved it turning our stay in a truly great experience.
for me it is a 10+

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel with big, modern and clean rooms not that expensive compared to small hotels located right in the center of Amsterdam I totally recommend it; we just had an issue during the check-in: they didn't find one of the reservations that was already paid! fortunately I printed it at home so the receptionist took it and disappeard for about 10 minutes, when she finally returned said that they "had found it", but I think they just had available rooms so they gave us one. The people that were with another receptionist next to us had the same issue, so it maybe a systematic problem they need to pay attention to. Recommendation: take a printed copy of your reservation with you.
The breakfast has a lot of variety but is on the pricy side for an average tourist.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Some kind of administrative fudge-up was made when we booked, so staff upgraded us to a suite for the weekend (which was fantastic as it was our wedding anniversary.) We never got to see the standard rooms, so I can't comment, but the suite itself was fantastic - far too roomy for just two people. although I'm not complaining!

Lovely view of the canals (I suspect most of the rooms had this view) the room itself was very clean, bed very comfortable - the wi-fi cut out depending on where you were in the room but I suspect this probably wouldn't affect most of the normal rooms.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable - all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is in a perfect area, in my opinion - easy walking distance to the station and the centre, but just out of the way enough to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkehsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous new hotel. . Huge comfy bed. . Lovely bathroom and the room in general was very nice. Friendly staff and very reasonable for what we paid. Only slight grumble is it is a bit further away from the Centraal station than stated.. it is probably 'as the crow flies' rather than taking into account you have to walk right around the peir to get there. That is the ONLY very small negative. I would stay again and have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jemma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed six nights at the Room Mate Aitana and overall it was a very good experience. The hotel is 8 months old, so everything is new and fresh. The design is contemporary, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Ours was on the 7th floor, large, quiet, well appointed, with nice views to the canal and Jordaan. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were average, at best.

Hotel location is great for a short stay, but after six days of sightseeing on foot, the hike to the hotel got a bit too much. The hotel is about 12 minutes away from the Central Station which is also Amsterdam's transport hub. There is no public transport closer to the hotel. There are also no restaurants or shops in the immediate vicinity - the walk into the city is also about 12 minutes away. There are a couple of shortcuts: to get to the hotel from Central Station, exit from the side of the marina - you'll see a Subway restaurant in front and to the left; take a left turn and follow the path along the canal, cross the bridge and continue till you reach a waive-like brudge on the left - cross the bridge and walk to the white square building (Palace of Justice), then turn left, walk another 50-60 m and you are at the entrance of the hotel. To get to the city, do the same - walk to the Palace of Justice, cross the bridge and you will see across the road a tunnel. Cross the street, walk under the tunnel, cross the bridge and you will find yourself surrounded by eateries and shops. There is a decent supermarket to the left of the bridge and the cheese shop on the left corner offers excellent sandwiches and traditional sweets (try the apple strudel).

You can have breakfast (€17.5 pp) or dine at the hotel, but I think there are many better options - there is no shortage of good food at decent prices around the city.

Staff at the hotel were quite helpful. Check-in can be slow. At check in I noted that the room rate I booked online differed very significantly from the one the hotel was going to charge us. The receptionist made some phone calls and the matter was rectified.

Little things make a difference: shampoo was not replaced for three days (thankfully, we carry our own toiletries). It was a bit of a mystery what and when gets replaced - including the towels. I am sure if we asked the hotel would've assisted, but these are things that should be routinely provided in a 4 star establishment.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel for a short stay. Hopefully the few service issues will be ironed out.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Saltywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was here on business and the Hotel was recommended by the organizers
booking was via special form from the organizers was 109 for the room + 20 for breakfast
after the arrival i was asked if i wanted a room with a view for 15€ extra (i declined) and 5€ extra tax were charged to my account and they charged me 200 euro in deposit ????? (never had to do that before)
The room was big clean and very nice but not as nice as in the pictures and the only thing you could see through the giant windows was the buildings next door and there was no view protection curtain only 2 layers of very dark and very very dark room
the bathroom was decent but lacked a sealing under the shower so the whole room was flooded after the shower (same with all other rooms of colleagues)
one evening we had dinner at the hotel (was paid for by company) the dinner was very nice but service was not up to the task (bread arrived after everyone was finished, food got mixed up ...)

breakfast was ok but nothing out of the ordinary

the hotel is close to the train station but it is still quite a walk to get there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markussa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $164 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing