We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #31 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing location, a short walk from Centrall station. From our corner room we had great views of the canal and the city. The hotel is exceptional value, the finish and cleanliness of the hotel was second to none, but was suprisingly cheap. We had just a one night stay at the Aitana since the hotel was fully booked. Kilea at the front desk went 'above and beyond' to help us, when we couldnt book for an extra two days. I wouldnt normally make use of a hotel restraraunt/bar becasue i have previously found them lacking in atmosphere. However, they far exceeded my expectations-great Dj and cocktail staff. Food in the restaraunt and bar, overlooking the canal, was great quality, and good value though the service didnt live up to that provided by the rest of the hotel.

The location is approx 15mins walk from Dam Square, a little further than i would want to return after a late night, however the facilites and standard at the Aitana make up for the walk. You really cannot get anything more central at even clsoe to this standard-regardless of cost!

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,621 - 1,627 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just back after a pleasant two night stay at the Aitana, only a short walk from Central Station and right on the riverside. The view from our room was out towards the city, the staff that we spoke to were all very helpful and friendly, a nice bright spacious modern hotel and lots of choice for breakfast.

Just can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restlesswanderer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was at the RMA for business for one night in April 2014.
The hotel, though located on a new area close to the railway station and not in the center of town, is nice, with modern furniture, and all the room essentials one could expect.
The breakfast buffet, of very good quality, is covering both continental and english breakfast.
There is also a pleasant restaurant inside the hotel, with a refined menu and excellent quality.
It takes you about 20-30 minutes on foot if you want to go to downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauri_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is a modern construction but rather brutal in concept; a combination of bare concrete interior walls but with messages everywhere entreating guests to believe that the hotel is actually a warm and cosy place full of love for their residents. A Spanish chain with an interesting marketing line. Its popular with, from what I could see, mostly tourists. Conveniently located within 10 minutes brisk walk from Amsterdam's Central Station and 15 minutes to the Dam. Built on reclaimed land with a view of a bit of water and jetties on one side, the other side has a potentially very nice view of the harbour that is robbed by another new high rise building.
There is one restaurant that serves a relatively mediocre breakfast with, to my personal annoyance, no orange marmalade and small cups that serve for both for tea and coffee. Lunch and dinner comprises a limited menu of modest quality that encourages the desire to explore the wider gastronomic selection that Amsterdam has to offer.
The Reception and restaurant staff are young and enthusiastic in their desire to please.
Now for the room: mine was spacious but I learnt that the rooms are not all the same. They are of all shapes and layouts. Maybe the architect enjoyed experimentation but it does mean that you don't know what to expect; maybe the room will be good, but maybe cramped and L-shaped. My room was typical of layouts that are unfortunately all too typical of hotels apparently designed by architects who probably never stayed in a hotel in their lives.
I had a nice king size bed and the room was big enough to take another. Four huge pillows that were two too many so the surplus gets dumped on the floor. Meanwhile the wardrobe was small (why when there was so much floor space to spare?) and, as is common with many hotels, unusable because it was occupied by a large ironing board and room safe. The ironing board had to be removed to enable suits etc to be hung. The wardrobe construction was cheap white MDF but the hangers were at least of the normal hook type, so a plus point here. The suitcase shelf was small so the case would have to remain shut. Not very useful. There was a desk but no power sockets within reach. Access to these required crawling under the desk on the floor. The room lighting was dim in the extreme so business work was not really possible after dark.
An external laundry service was available but the bag had to be personally delivered by the guest to Reception by 08:30 if same day delivery was needed. In common with 90% of hotels worldwide guests requiring laundry more than once during their stay would be frustrated because laundry lists and bags are not replenished by the room maid. Beware! The default shirt delivery is not folded but on hangers so the traveler must ensure that extra time is reserved to fold his shirts for packing during that rush to checkout and the airport! Convenient for the laundry but a disservice to the business traveler.
My bathroom had a fabulous shower; big enough to stand back without getting frozen by the initial surge of cold water. Bars of soap were provided (as opposed to the hateful liquid soap dispensers) but, unusually, Kleenex tissues were not provided so sniffles had to be dealt with using toilet paper. Not the end of the world but inconvenient. The maid would seal the first sheet of toilet paper to the roll with glue and the hotel logo. Supposed to be a luxury touch but actually a nuisance if in a hurry to get to that meeting after a bit of porcelain throne contemplation because the loo paper is stuck fast.
My bathroom also had no shaver socket, but did have a double mains power sockets next to the sink that would doubt would give H&S inspectors in the UK nightmares.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel in Amsterdam. It was great. The view was fantastic. Breakfast was also great!
The reception is sometimes very full so check in and check out might take a bit longer..
Air-condition in the room cannot be shut down. That is the only thing that bothered me.
We'd love to stay here again when we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here end of March beginning of April we arrived by train only to realise that it was a short walk it was great! Clean spacious room!
Didn't have breakfast as we wanted to go into the city and try something different!
Overall perfect time away!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Marc R,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for rating us with 5 stars! I am happy to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and I hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels?!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights (Apr 2014). From exiting the rear of the Central Railway Station the hotel is a 5 min walk in a northwesterly direction along the waterfront in what proved to be a quiet area. Chosen for its modern styling and claims for comfort/food and we weren't disappointed. Room/bathroom immaculate in all respects. Shower (c/w 2 heads) was large and very powerful. Room had 2 wide screen TV's and a bed so comfortable you just didn't want to vacate. The large expanse of floor to ceiling windows in our northwest facing room are probably not for the shy but the equally large double curtains were easy to operate. The extensive view of the waterway was superb and continuously full of interest. We pre purchased the breakfast package and also ate in the hotel one evening as it had lots of atmosphere and was proving a hit with local people. The buffet style breakfast was good, whilst dinner, produced in an open-plan kitchen, was superb with excellent service. One minor blip with an unrequested item on the final bill was quickly and efficiently dealt with to my satisfaction. Staff very friendly, pro-active and helpful at all times. Very much looking forward to another stay.

Room Tip: Northwest facing room (views of the waterway) or southwest facing (view of the marina). Northeast fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,186 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $158 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing