We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“*****!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“*****!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I felt like in a Five Stars Hotel because of the services and the quality of the room. The bathroom was perfectly clean, tidy and smelt well. Silence and quiet even if it is in the centre of the city. It was so important for me because I came to Amsterdam just for a business meeting and needed to get back to Spain too quick. I already miss Aitana. Compliments!

Room Tip: Eleventh floor room was the perfection for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erickvaldivieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Erickvaldivieso,

To describe our hotel as a 5 star because of services and quality is a great honor, which we are very proud of! I am thrilled to read that you had such a relaxing stay with us. Thank you for your review, we are already looking forward to welcome you back to Room Mate Aitana!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    703
    137
    33
    12
See reviews for
274
1,136
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

King size bed with memory foam mattress help you have comfort sleep. Hotel is new and tidy. I stayed there at 26-27 Jan. There was a fire alarm at 5 AM. Speaker said in Dutch then English that all tenant should leave now and calm. When we evacuated to ground, there was no staff to help us or explain what happen. There was zero degree outdoor and all tenant went back to hotel lobby and wait. Firefighter came after 10 minutes. When firefighters left, the reception staff still not explain what happen until we asked. It was a false alarm. I think hotel should use speaker to explain it was a false alarm. It will comfort us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oandp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Loved the beds and pillows. They were the most comfortable beds and pillows I have ever experienced in any of my hotels stays anywhere in the world. Rooms were large by European standards and nicely decorated. Only a 5-7 minute easy flat walk to Amsterdam Central Station and in a quiet area on the river. Staff was very friendly and even let me check in to my room early. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family and use this hotel again myself.

The only problem I had was the slow wifi, but that won't stop me from returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel was great. The rooms and facilities are completely new and well taken care of, everything is tidy and clean. Rooms are spacious, comfy and nice. The beds are amazing! If you take a nap on one of those mattresses, you won't go out again later on! The staff is great, knowledgeable and very friendly. There was someone always taking care and helping us. We were a group of five and felt very comfortable, as if we were at home. I loved this hotel, from now on I will look if there's a roommate wherever I travel!

Room Tip: The beds are AMAZING! impecable mattress quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed three nights in room 1012 and was very impressed from the very beginning - smooth, easy check in with friendly, helpful staff. Modern, funky decor and right on the waterfront.

The room was immaculately clean, quite minimalist but very comfortable. The bed was unbelievable after a day out and about - slept so well.

The hotel is located about 7 minutes walk from the Central Station and easy to get to all the attractions along the canals. Loads of restaurants,bars etc as well as a couple of local supermarkets if you just wanted a few snacks and bottle of cheap wine!

Lovely hotel, definitely worth giving it a go - will be back soon :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

this place is a modern mix of everything dutch. a little further from the train station than i expected (on paths that designed for bikes) but an easy access point for much of the city. this place is still so new that many of the maps still show it as a pier. and given the newness it felt a bit remote but also gives it that modern experimental feel.

must also say the rooms are very well furnished/stylish. the rooms facing the city have an odd lock on the door to the balcony that only allows air but not one to to go to balcony (prevents smoking?). the amenities were top notch (rain shower, soft linens, etc.)

had a great service experience that jeroen at the front desk was able to resolve that is worth mentioning, thank you.

Room Tip: top floors are better view, rooms facing east are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear ChicagoSped,

thank you for sharing your positive review with us! It gives us great pleasure to read that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed the modern feel! I will proudly share your compliments of Jeroen with him and our entire team!
The tilting window in your room was actually not a door, and we do not have balconies. The space you mentioned is intended as a natural barrier to keep a stable climate in the building. Perhaps we should indicate this more clearly, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wow i can only describe this as brilliant. I havent stayed in a hotel before when you have to walk over a bridge to get to it.
The reception are was smooth and very easy and the decor is amazing!!!! The staff were very friendly and offered us a 2pm check out.
The best bit is actually the room. I wanted to take the bed, duvet and pillows home with me. The modern decor is fantastic. Its easy to make yourself a cuppa.

I would really recommend staying here its brilliant

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Hotel De Hallen
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing