We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, service, and vegetarian options!”
Review of Ashoka Restaurant

Ashoka Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #56 of 4,895 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: In 2013 the Ashoka restaurant opened its doors at the nearby location, offering from the beginning the best of Indian and Nepalese cuisine in Amsterdam. Ashoka became so popular amongst locals, visitors of the city and Indian and Nepalese expats that our small restaurant with 30 seats could not even serve all of our regular guests. We are happy to relocate in a beautiful and spacious restaurant built in a monumental warehouse in the heart of Amsterdam. The interior of Ashoka Deluxe blurs the border between classic and industrial with one-of-a-kind works of art and exclusive vintage finds which invite you to a great evening in the Amsterdam city center. We hope you will love not only our extensive selection of delicious food and drinks but also enjoy the luxury and comfort of the unique interior. At Ashoka, you are able to experience the amazing flavors in a fine dining concept. We invite you to create a cherished memory at Ashoka Deluxe!
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

We went for and early dinner on a weeknight, we were met with a lively funny and friendly wait staff. We had the Vegetable Biryani, simosas and Nepalese veggie curry. Tons of flavor, texture and heat with good sized portions! Decent regional beer selection. We will return!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LoriT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed everything. We started with fried chicken momo and each had an entree- he had lamb tandoori and I had chicken Rogan josh. We absolutely loved the flavor, textures, enviornmenr and service and would highly recommend for casual dining.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Cosy restaurant in a small location. Friendly service and being very helpful with menu choises.
Good that the spice level can be made individual.
Very attentive service during meal.
Good pricing

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank petergY8962LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

This will go down as one of the best Indian meals I have ever had. We ordered the non-vegetarian starter platter which included spicy chicken weings, lamb momo, spicy shrimp and Chicken Tikka. It was all perfectly spiced nd delicious. All three of us enjoyed our entrees. It was all so good I didn't stop eating even when I should have.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MissMaryWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Excellent curry with very friendly service. Restaurant was pretty full when we visited on a Wednesday night so worth booking. Curries were a little hotter than our British/ Bangladesh version. I had the Chicken Madras, excellent but hot hot hot!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ricey1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ashoka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing