We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool coffeeshop for Amsterdam first timers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baba Coffeeshop - CLOSED

Baba Coffeeshop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Baba Coffeeshop of Amsterdam! For 21 years we have been a cozy, friendly and hospitable Coffeeshop to every local and tourist. Come and join us at our new location at Barentszstraat 130 and enjoy the great service from our friendly staff and our delightful choice of our specialties. It is just a short walk from Central station or take bus 48 which can drop u off at the Barentszplein stop and from there on it's only a 2 min walk . We can't wait to meet new people and see our old friends and customers! P.s for easy direction's check Google Maps With kind regards. The BABA Crew
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool coffeeshop for Amsterdam first timers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We enjoyed this spot as some members of our group weren't interested in smoking and Baba was really well ventilated and fine for them to hang out in even though they weren't smoking. Compared to some of the other coffeeshops we visited, Baba was the nicest spot to chill out. Pre-rolled joints start at 5 euro.

Would definitely visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    92
    47
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Helpful For First Timers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was with a group of 4 people and 3 of us had barely touched weed before, but whilst in Amsterdam we thought "when in Amsterdam, do as the Dutch do". We found an inviting looking 'coffee' shop and found a table. We asked for a 'menu' but the waiter said if we weren't rolling ourselves to ask for a pre-rolled joint at the bar. We did exactly this and the lady at the bar was very helpful and sold us a few joints and a lighter and some water without any condescension.

Friendly and happy to help first timers. The more experienced smokers looked very much at home as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OlliePlimsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Baba's Vibe.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The first couple days I scouted the coffee shops for which had the best vibe and deal.
I knew the hunt was over when I found Baba's.
Great place to start or end the night hanging around the Red Light District.
Had a couple of their brownies- excellent. *Newbies note: It takes about an hour to kick and it's moderately strong, in so splitting one with a friend and saving a joint for later is the sweet spot combination*
Also bought a few pre-rolled joints. 2 Uppers (forget their name, came in a black tube). White Widow and Cheese were the two others we tried. All good stuff.
It can get busy in their, smaller shop in a centered area so keep that in mind when planning.

Cosmic Brownie- 7 Euro
Joints ranged from 7-11 Euro depending on what you picked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good chocolate brownies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I went here for a chocolate brownie, it was very busy so i took it out. I only ate half at first as i was wary after reading some reviews saying they are very strong. 45 minutes later i wasn't feeling any effects, so i ate the other half. Then it hit me! 1 was enough, it was a nice experience. I would go back for more :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kjrm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There bud is on point!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went there at the start of this year and the service is a bit crappy but there bud is 10/10!! It isnt one of the best coffee shops to sit in, but if u are a connasour then you have to pay a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Randosingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba Coffeeshop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing