We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Eggcellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omelegg - De Pijp

Omelegg - De Pijp
Ranked #23 of 3,368 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: We are specialised in omelettes being the first and only omeletterie in The Netherlands.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eggcellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This rather small premises knows how to efficiently make use of the available space in otherwise a crowded part of the city. The open kitchen is directly in the restaurant itself, so you can always keep an eye on the chef. The idyllic interior contributes to the general atmosphere as well.

As the name of the restaurant suggests, the main dish is all about the egg. And as such, various omelets and egg-based plates are made available in abundance. Basically, everything is healthy and outstanding. The food is delicious and the staff (who appear to match the alternative style of the diner) is very friendly.

Definitely recommend this place for a quick (or preferably extended) bite!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasersz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    295
    45
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We found this place by accident and I'm so glad we did! It had such a nice, cosy atmosphere and served delicious healthy omelettes as well as sandwiches and salads. It really filled me up for the afternoon, and their fresh squeezed orange juice was yummy too! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

First of all, love the menu. Never seen one like it. And besides that I couldn't decide what to order. Everything looked great.

Had the melty mozzarella panini with an egg. Delicious. The bread was outstanding. My co-worker had a croissant. Asked him how it was and he just rolled his eyes.

Excellent service.

Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fuel for the day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you want food that will fuel you for an entire day of walking and site-seeing this is the place to go. The portions are huge and for good reason. Most residence in Amsterdam bike so I guess they need that energy to ride around town. My girlfriend and I ate there twice and loved everything. All of the ingredients tasted fresh and the flavors were awesome. The prices were some of the best we had seen while there as well. I had the Smokin Chick and the Viking Fisherman. Served with toast and a small salad I was good to go for hours. Getting in and seated was easy since it's not in a very touristy area but it's also just a couple blocks away from the Pijp market. I will be eating there every time I'm in amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Massive, very filling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice brunch. The portions are big! We couldn't finish our omelettes! It kept us going till dinner!

However service was frustratingly slow. Our orders were mixed up with the people sitting next to us. I did not understand why they thought we were together. We clearly asked for a table for 2.

Helpful?
Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omelegg - De Pijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Omelegg - De Pijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing