We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“after great reviews - a little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maria Steak House

Maria Steak House
Ranked #2,977 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“after great reviews - a little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited after reading some great reviews of the quality of the food. We only had main courses for early evening dining but had to send both our steaks back for extra cooking as rare must mean 'blue' to the chef. Strange menu with either your selected steak plus everything extra or a combination all inclusive choice. The chain steakhouses offer better for less.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    30
    16
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, unique, dedicated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff welcomed me at the door with a friendly smile and attitude! Steak was excellent -simple and pure good! It was unique and wonderful that they brought it to me on my own little pitfire to finish cooking! Wonderful place with hard working friendly staff! As a single female I finally found a great place to eat comfortably and well!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Service is a mess. We nearly waited 50 minutes for our steak and the guy didn't care anyway about his guests. Steaks were ok but I had better ones for the same price

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good food and relaxed service, one client said it was the best steak he had had in a while. Will be back next year

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilowe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE Tourist trap...AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had just come the plane late at night and were desperate for a place to eat. This seemed to be one of the only places still serving food at 11 pm so we headed in. The decor was dark and the place wreaked of dirty linens. But we were desperate so we persisted...my boyfriend ordered ribs and a beer. He was told he had to order bbq on top of the already overpriced ribs because they didnt come with any sauce. I ordered my food and desperately thirsty asked for a tap water. At which point i was told "im not bringing you tap water you havr to order a drink". I was slightly taken aback and asked why. Perhaps the tap water wasnt drinkable? The response i got was beyond rude and arrogant "im not serving you tap water i have to pay the rent on this place, the staff, the water bill. Im not serving you tap water you have to order a drink." At which point we said forget it then and walked out. We asked a friendly local the next day whether this was normal. He said absolutely not and that in his entire life he had only encountered this once before. Indeed we learnt over the next few days in amsterdam that most decent restaurants even bring you a jug of tap water as soon as you sit down. We were lucky to have left as the food on other tables looked grim and as it happened we stumbled upon an amazing pizza place a couple of minutes later. Save yourself the hassle and avoid this place. There are much nicer places in amsterdam to spend your hard earned cash.

Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Maria Steak House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Maria Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing