We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food,a little pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norling Restaurant Amsterdam

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Tibetan Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food,a little pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ate dinner here on a weekend of February 2014. We had made our reservation earlier, as we had heard that it could get busy. We ordered 2 starters and 3 main dishes among the 3 of us. The food was delicious, and fresh. Coming from India, and being an ardent fan of Thai food, I dint find the dishes to be as different as i would have liked, but that is just a personal opinion. We felt the starters quantity was way too less for the price charged. The main course quantity was ok. The service was good and there was a guy who came up to us after we stepped out and apologized for not coming to us earlier as it was a busy night. All in all, a good experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanyababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    167
    32
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Very Good Asian Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to Norling in June 2014. Norling is nestled amongst several restaurants but do not get distracted. It is worth going to.

Ordered the spring rolls (spicy sweet sauce), lamb curry that was medium spicy, and the special creamy potatoes.

All the food was of a very good standard. But of course expensive being in Central Amsterdam.

Go and enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, amazing service...delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I ate here on Sat 14th June as part of a party of 7 girls in Amsterdam for a hen weekend. I booked it due to its great reviews and also as it had a set 'Experience' menu which was ideal for a group booking....I wasn't disappointed. From start to finish it was lovely! The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly, when we asked for menu recommendations he offered to bring us out a variety of different dishes so we could sample everything they offered. When the food started to arrive we were actually salivating; each dish was so different, from light fragrant curries to noodle dishes (special mention to the creamy buttery potatoes...we were fighting over that one and scraped the bowl dry!). We were meant to get two bottles of wine between the group but the waiter supplied us with more for no extra charge, an unnecessary but very much appreciated extra.For just under 35 euros a head we had a beautiful three course meal and left with full bellies and happy faces.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend Norling, it is a lovely building with a pleasant calming ambience, beautiful food and the staff really did make us feel so welcome, it was a delight. Thank you Norling for our wonderful meal, I will be hunting you out again next time I come to Amsterdam!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sprinkledwithsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a dinner here a couple of weeks ago. This was our first exposure to Tibetan cuisine. The waitstaff was extremely helpful in making suggestions to our party of four so that we would have good samplings of food for all of us to share. This was our first night in Amsterdam and it turned out to be our best meal in that city. The prices are fair for the quality of the dining experience. No need to get dressed up - we came in our sightseeing clothes. I would recommend making reservations because it was busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very Good Tibetan Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Norling is located in Regulierdwarsstraat, which is full of a wide range of restaurants near Koningsplein in the heart of Amsterdam.

We dined at 5 p.m. on a Saturday evening and although the restaurant was empty at the time, I don't think we would have got a table much later without a reservation as it filled up with some large parties.

We opted for the 'Norling Experience' which consisted of a starter, main course, dessert and house wine for each person at EUR 30 per head. As there were only four starters on the menu, we had them all between us, namely, spring rolls, beef and vegetarian dumplings and chicken wings. I had a prawn dish whose name I can't recall for main with rice, and mango ice cream for dessert.

The food was good and the service quick and friendly. The ambience in the restaurant was comfortable and I would undoubtedly return but make sure I made a reservation next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing