We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Great sevice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norling Restaurant Amsterdam

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Tibetan cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food! Great sevice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great food and great sevice! Not sure hat they did but best tasting mishrooms and tofu i've ever had. Not a bad price for Amsterdam and in a great neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtwinkletoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    178
    33
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Suuuperfood and superservice! The food was great! Super service! Great waiter. Look like the guy from walking dead, and he was superfriendly!

Helpful?
1 Thank Morten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I've just got back from a break in Amsterdam with my family. This restaurant was lovely. It is probably the best food I've had in a restaurant for a while. I couldn't fault it. Service was good too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Tibetan cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The grandfather of the propietor at Norling was Tibetan and the cook is Tibetan so there is a level of authenticity about the cooking. All ingredients are fresh and prepared in the kitchen. We started with momos - not the easiest to make, but these were delicious - and spring rolls. As a main course we had the red bean and lamb stew: we were asked how spicy we liked this and it came perfectly to our tastes. The cost of the food for two was €45 and we drank a bottle of the house French Malbec which was remarkably good and well worth the €18.
The service was very friendly and the atmosphere pleasant, however the one thing that failed - and stops a 5 star rating - was payment. Credit cards are at present not accepted supposedly due to a lengthy fault and this is due to be corrected in January. However we were not advised of this until after we had eaten and were presented with the bill. This could have been embarrassing and we should have been warned before ordering.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly and cosy experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited this place on a busy Friday evening with a group of 9. Due to railway and communication problems, 7 of us arrived way to late. We feared our reservation would have vanished. Nothing like that. Staff were most friendly, welcomed us and made us immediately feel at home. We got lots of advise on menu choices, and we had a most wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JantienK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing