We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've travelled extensively in Europe and am usually disappointed by the quality of 4 star hotels, until I visited the Art'otel. The location is excellent, walking distance from most places. We rented a car and it stayed in the garage the entire time. The room we had which was their basic was very big, beautiful modern bathroom and some cool features for the lighting. The air conditioning was very powerful and the temperature always perfect. The staff is warm and friendly. They include breakfast and it's quite good with a large selection of breads, cheeses, cereals, fruit and eggs. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking luxury accommodations in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WldTrvlrmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear WldTrvlrmtl,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our hotel staff so much and that you rate us the best hotel in Europe, wow!

If ever you come and visit the area again, we'd love to welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    269
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
140
630
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed only 1 night for business.
Rooms with nice volume in an old building totally redone.
Nice shared facilities - pity I had no time to hit the gym
Very well mannered, friendly and helpful staff.
Umbrellas conveniently available on the go
Nice healthy breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vladimirdjurovic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear vladimirdjurovic2,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed you time with us while being in Amsterdam for business.

If ever you come back for whatever purpose, we'd love to welcome you again as our guest.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect hotel for Amsterdam. A little different from the expected (the art, the colors, etc), but a really wonderful overall experience. The room was large. The bed was large and comfortable. The furnishings were clean, sleek & modern. The shower was enormous (what a relief) and had great options. The hotel was within walking distance from major attractions and very close to the train station (which I would normally not even consider, but I make an exception in this case. The staff, by the way, could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senatorcassius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear senatorcassius,

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that we are great and funky!

If ever you come back and visit the area, we'd love to welcome you back as our guest.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevilla,españa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I ever been. Modern and luxury and really confortable. People working there really friendly and helpfull. Spectacular pool and gym. Great location, in front of the train station and minutes walking to everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrekobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear alfrekobe,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our location, service of our staff and Active Club so much, just perfect!

Come back and visit us again when you are in Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here in April to celebrate my son's 21st birthday. We loved the location and styling of the hotel. The stunning monochromatic theme with splashes of colour, the quirky artwork and styling of the rooms. The staff at reception were fantastic throughout our stay. The pool was pleasant. It was overall a lovely space to be in.
However, there were issues. The service at breakfast was atrocious. Two days in a row we waited over 40 minutes, and asked four times, where our coffee was. No one seemed to take responsibility for serving specific tables so the result was chaos. We'd looked at the unpriced menu online before we came, and were excited, but were disappointed when we got there to see the menu at breakfast and discover that anything interesting turned out to be at extra charge. Seeing as we were paying over £1000 for two rooms for three nights, we thought this mean and petty.
Our rooms were nice, but we seemed to be in a family suite, and I would question whether we should have been paying full price for both rooms. Cleaning was very erratic. One day we went out at 11am, came back at 4.30pm and the room still hadn't been cleaned. We then had to ask and still waited ages for this to be done. The topping up of toiletries/snacks was also erratic and seemed to be on the whim of whichever cleaner you had. Again, at the price we'd paid, this seemed a little insulting.
So. If I was the manager of this hotel I would take note, as the hotel space and design is fabulous and the only issues are rectifiable staff ones. The breakfast staff need to be re-trained and assigned tables, and taught that diners needs should be met within a reasonable time. There needs to be clearer overseeing of cleaning, again management should be responsible for checking rooms have been cleared and re-stocked adequately.
I hope improvements are made, as I'm not sure how long a hotel's reputation can fully survive on style over substance for an extended period of time.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced inwards and were very well sound-proofed though lacked a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Lilac47

Firstly, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such detailed feedback.
Second, we appreciate the compliments on the design and atmosphere in the hotel.

Unfortunately you experienced some flaws in our operation for which we apologize.
The situations that you have mentioned have been shared internally with the respective departments and attended to immediately.

We would be grateful if we could welcome you again in the future and offer you the flawless art'otel amsterdam service.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Staying here ended up being one of the best stays we have had around the world

Location: the location across from central station means it is so easy and cheap to get from the airport. Also an easy walk or tram ride to all areas of Amsterdam

Rooms: we just had a basic room which was still great, spacious, clean, quiet and well designed even though we were on lower level facing street. Room has connection panel which has become a necessity for me.

Restaurant: included breakfast doesn't have huge variety of choice however things they do have of high quality. You can also buy other things from the menu at a reasonable price. We ate dinner there one night and the tapas style menu was ok, unfortunately the service was very slow. The bar area is really cool, and we could also sit in the art gallery area to watch the football which was a nice touch.

Service: everyone we dealt with was super friendly

All in all an excellent stay we would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhirhimelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rhirhimelbourne

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay so much!
Thank you for your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is situated very convenienty facing the central station. That ensures access to good public transport and bike rentals etc. The hotel is very well designed (modern) with great spacious rooms with all you would expect in this class of hotel. I loved the very nice bathroom with a large shower and plenty of space. The bar is very nice also with some good advice for cocktails or simply a beer. Nice indoor pool, good fitness and great sauna to relax after a day of walking or biking around the city. And a good desk to work at in case you have to. Only breakfast is not up to standards compared to other hotels of similar quality. Nice fresh omelettes on order but little other choice for the healh or gourmet breakfast fans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear AntwerpDirk,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our hotel facilities and staff so much.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast experience. We will use it for future improvements.

Come back and visit us again when you are in Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing