We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good hotel - restaurant sometimes great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - restaurant sometimes great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed for a week. It was very comfortable. The staff are excellent. Hard to say anything wrong - although the wines in the restaurant are all ordinary. The meals also vary in quality and size presumably depending on the chef who is on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Busyprof,

Thanks you for your lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately there were also issues such as the restaurant quality. I am sorry that we let you down on this. We hope that this was not too much of influence on your experience.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    268
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
140
629
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Lovely modern hotel with great room and just across the road from the train station. Staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble and the complimentary breakfast and little extras in the room are a great touch! would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor offer a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Wilsonberry,

Thank you for you lovely words! It was our pleasure making your stay memorable. We are already looking forward welcoming you again when travels brings you back in the area!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in March for my partners birthday. I did mention it was his birthday when I followed up my reservation with an email to the hotel, but no acknowledgement was received when we arrived which was slightly disappointing. Another thing was we were charged a 75 Euro deposit per night, which takes up to 4 days to be 'refunded' onto your account after check out. I've had hotels take an imprint of my card before, but this hotel actually took the money from my account (they say they didn't, but I checked with my bank who confirmed they had). One last thing, we asked for an extra bottle of water and was told it'd be complimentary, took an age to arrive to our room so went downstairs to be told we'd have to have it charged to our account. Just tell us it was chargeable in the first place!

Now for the good stuff, breakfast was included which was fantastic! Location was great! Some reviews mention the hotel was noisy, if noise bothers you why not request a quiet room? We did and got a lovely peaceful room! The staff were very welcoming, nothing was to much trouble. Bed was comfy, shower was lovely.

A few glitches but overall a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Laura040,

Thank you for the review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately not everything was to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this might have caused. We appreciate your feedback very much in order to improve our operational process.

We hope to see you back whenever you come and visit Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights...hotel very well located just across the street from central train station in Amsterdam..room very clean and beds amazingly comfortable..great breakfast at hotel restaurant. But most importantly staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BernardandJulie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Bernardan,

Thank you for your lovely words about the hotel. Great to hear that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

If you come and visit the area again, please indeed do not hesitate to visit us again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is really new, to the point that a lot of cab drivers don't know it, located in front of Amsterdam Central Station and in walking distance of many attractions. The first impression is really wonderful because the front desk staff is young, knowledgeable and very friendly ready to help with directions, booking places or anything you need. The rooms are very nicely decorated in modern taste and fairly spacious, stocked with a nice espresso machine and toiletries. The bar and restaurant are really good, nice atmosphere and crowd with modern artsy features all around. Quality and choice of food, we had daily breakfast, were really good especially because your choices are the buffet but also a' la carte menu with freshly made omelettes and meat choices. If you can get a package with breakfast, go for it, otherwise is 25 euros per person.
Only thing that was disappointing the pool and the whole pool area were a bit cold in temperature and the sauna was not working at the time, but the 3 days stay was still perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear StellaB70,

Thanks you for your lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately there were also issues such as the swimming pool. I am sorry that we let you down on this. We hope that this was not too much of influence on your experience.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights at this fabulous hotel, The hotel is in a great central location ideal for exploring the city. A very modern hotel with inspirational design ideas. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean with unusual glass bathrooms and mood lighting. We were given complimentary popcorn and water on the first night and loved the illy coffee machine. Breakfast was to a high standard with plenty of choice and all cooked fresh to order. The restaurant in the evening serves a Tapas type meal which is that good we dined there 2 nights out of three, which for us is really unusual as we generally tend to eat out when staying in hotels. This type of eating experience may not suit every body but for us made a refreshing change and all the staff are really friendly.The bar at night has a great vibe too!
As hoteliers in Llandudno North Wales we would not hesitate to recommend the Art'otel Amsterdam and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tynedalehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear tynedalehotel,

Thanks you for your lovely words! Since you mentioned being hoteliers yourselves, you must have experienced a lot of hospitality, which means high expectations! We are honored to hear that we were even able to exceed them!

Thank you once again for your beautiful compliments!

See you soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was there for 3 days .The hotel is located at a very convenient place which you can reach by walking all the exciting locations in Amsterdam. The hotel concept totally different. Staff is really good and attractive. The restaurant and the bar is nicely done and the food is really y good. No doubt I will visit this place again and i can recommend this hotel for any holiday maker or the business person.

Room Tip: I was at a room in a corner. It was good and spascious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Dimu007,

Thank you for your lovely words! Our hotel concept is quite unique, isn't it? We are doing our best to combine art and hospitality in a surprising way!

Great to hear that you will visit us again without a doubt; we are already looking forward to it!

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing