We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel with diferent concept” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hotel with diferent concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was there for 3 days .The hotel is located at a very convenient place which you can reach by walking all the exciting locations in Amsterdam. The hotel concept totally different. Staff is really good and attractive. The restaurant and the bar is nicely done and the food is really y good. No doubt I will visit this place again and i can recommend this hotel for any holiday maker or the business person.

Room Tip: I was at a room in a corner. It was good and spascious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Dimu007,

Thank you for your lovely words! Our hotel concept is quite unique, isn't it? We are doing our best to combine art and hospitality in a surprising way!

Great to hear that you will visit us again without a doubt; we are already looking forward to it!

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    268
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
140
628
53
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Really nice modern hotel in a great central location. Directly across from central station. Rooms were trendy, comfortable and really well presented. Definitely stay here again if we go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezbomb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Kezbomb_8,

Thank you for sharing your experience! Our location is quite unique just opposite of the central station, isn't it?

Let us know when travels brings you back in Amsterdam, so we can make your next stay even more personal!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel. Fantastic location minutes walk from central station, very trendy and chic, excellent selection for dinner (even for vegetarians) made to a high standard and presented nicely, immaculately clean rooms, mostly polite staff, reasonable selection for breakfast including à la carte options. Free in room amenities include a wide range of elemis products, a large bottle of water, two packets of crisps and a packet of healthy living nuts. The hotel has a gym and swimming pool, I was not able to use the facilities and so cannot comment on these. Of course, from any city centre hotel you expect the noise of trams and youths roaming the street late into the night and early morning. Ensure you select a courtyard facing room if you are a light sleeper! It's a shame a few things let this hotel down and I think I've been generous with my score. The biggest disappointment is that the wall connections to the TV did not work (laptop to TV via HDMI) in my room, I was informed they did not work because "the media centre is down" this was a lie, as the connections worked fine in my colleagues room. I asked to switch rooms but my request was not accepted. To be fair to the hotel I was provided a VGA projector the following day, however my laptop only supports HDMI so this was not useful. A simple change in room would have resolved my problem, especially after seeing there were room available. Second issue, I ordered dessert - a chocolate moose with coconut ice cream. My coconut ice cream was entirely melted, so did not arrive as an ice cream. The dessert was served instantaneously which makes me believe it was plated for somebody else who decided they did not want it anymore, it was very disappointing! The final complaint is that you have to pay a €2 supplement for a glass of apple juice, fresh juice or not this is unacceptable! Every other hotel in the world includes apple juice with their breakfast! Finally, with my Carlson club membership I am entitled to a room class upgrade and every other hotel part of the Carlson group upgrades me. Here I was informed my membership tier is not eligible for upgrade, this is another lie, as on the Carlson website it's clearly stated my tier is eligible for upgrade. I'm in Amsterdam until September and tempted to give the hotel another try before picking my regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear RKK1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We like that you mentioned it was (almost) a perfect stay.

We understand the issues you had with the media hub we promise that for your next stay we will have them solved!

We look forward to welcoming you for a second time so we can make your almost perfect stay a perfect stay.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The art otel is a fabulous hotel and we found as soon as we arrived the staff were on top form and very friendly, the concierge showed us around the hotel and took our bags To our room. The hotel itself is very model with some quirky art pieces.
The room was spacious and modern and the bathroom was amazing only one thing the shower used to leak out by the basins so maybe this should be looked at.
Food was good and reasonable priced and breakfast was good too with a wide selection.
Central located and would defiantly stay at the art otel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katylayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Katylayla,

Thank you for your lovely review! Great to hear that you had a fabulous time in our hotel with the quirky art pieces :) We are already looking forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a brilliant time at this hotel, so close to central station and the surrounding areas. The staff were very riendly, we never got shown round hotel but it was very easy to find everything. The room was amazing, very comfy bed. Pillows were too hard for us but they were still comfortable. If we were to return to Amsterdam this would be our choice of hotel without a doubt. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura-iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear laura-iain,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a brilliant time in our hotel! Just let us know when you are coming back, so we can make sure that you still receive a complete and interesting showround through the hotel including an explanation of our art pieces!

We are already looking forward to see you again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had an amazing time staying at this hotel.
Great, central location. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and always provided excellent service. The rooms really are amazing, big comfy bed, English channels on the television, wonderful waterfall shower.
There was a wide choice of breakfast, very good quality, well presented. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel and would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in an art room and found it amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Vickie E,

We enjoyed reading your wonderful review. Being name as one of the best hotel you have ever stayed in is a big compliment for us, so thank you! We hope to welcome you as a guest once again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel special and that nothing was too much trouble. Yes, the lifts are a little on the dark side but that does not detract from the overall experience. The proximity of the hotel to the central station is very convenient and it is no distance on foot to the centre of Amsterdam. Trams and canalboats on ones doorstep (but not obtrusive). Great restaurants nearby, the hotel staff are only too happy to advise, also the bar and food at the hotel were good and the breakfasts were superb. We will be going back.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor at the front, overlooking the canal basin and the station/tram terminal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stotty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Stotty007,

We are very thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations! It was our pleasure assisting you with your travel plans; to make sure you have seen the best places that Amsterdam has to offer!

Great to hear that you will be back; we are already waiting for your arrival!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing