We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large but cosy restaurant in Amsterdam city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphrey's Spuistraat

Humphrey's Spuistraat
Ranked #221 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centrum
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Large but cosy restaurant in Amsterdam city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went dining with our 8 year old daughter on a busy evening. Everything is this restaurant is professional : the card, the food, service, dishes,... The food was very ok and portions are large comparing to other trendy restaurants for the price they are asking. It was a busy place, but we never felt that they were forgetting us. Available at all times, friendly staff of very nice young hard working people. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestemaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    136
    48
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to eat - reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Humphries has a good business plan, limited menu, good food, efficient hardworking staff, great value- no wonder it's very busy. The is our second visit to Humphries and we were not dissapointed. We prebooked a online few days before our trip to Amsterdam and please we did, at 6.30 on a Saturday the restaurant was very busy. That said we did not have to wait long to be served. The service was well paced but not rushed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank greypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Set 3 course menu at 24.95, but with a wide choice of food in each section. Excellent food, service, attitude & ambiance - visited 2 out of 3 nights in the city - cannot recommend it too highly - try it folks!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is great, this is our second trip to Amsterdam and we had to come back here. Food is tasty and good quantity, price is great and service is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
“Be careful, the food is good, but the service steels everything what you are leaving.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed for the this first time in Amsterdam and I had the first chaeting experiencience in a restaurant in my life. If you forget something in the Humphreys, the staff will take it and you will never get it back. I forgot a pullover (good brand) when we (group of approx. 30 people) left these restaurant arround 11. About an hour later I went back when I am realized it. The staff told me that they have not found it and usually they are not allowed to let me in when they have closed. I did not care and had a look on the chair (in the empty restaurant). I could not find the pullover and the girl at the front door repeated that they have not found anything this evening and perhaps someone of our group took the pullover ;-). I have been stayed in many parts of the world, but nowhere I had to be aware about leaving things in a restaurants, but Humphreys in Amsterdam is different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B_from_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humphrey's Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Humphrey's Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing