We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Meal, Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humphrey's Spuistraat

Humphrey's Spuistraat
Ranked #221 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centrum
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is great, this is our second trip to Amsterdam and we had to come back here. Food is tasty and good quantity, price is great and service is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    135
    48
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Be careful, the food is good, but the service steels everything what you are leaving.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed for the this first time in Amsterdam and I had the first chaeting experiencience in a restaurant in my life. If you forget something in the Humphreys, the staff will take it and you will never get it back. I forgot a pullover (good brand) when we (group of approx. 30 people) left these restaurant arround 11. About an hour later I went back when I am realized it. The staff told me that they have not found it and usually they are not allowed to let me in when they have closed. I did not care and had a look on the chair (in the empty restaurant). I could not find the pullover and the girl at the front door repeated that they have not found anything this evening and perhaps someone of our group took the pullover ;-). I have been stayed in many parts of the world, but nowhere I had to be aware about leaving things in a restaurants, but Humphreys in Amsterdam is different.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B_from_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a spacious but cosy restaurant in a busy stretch of Spuistraat, where it has to vie with a lot of competitors. Humphrey's angle is their offer of 3 courses for 24.95 euros - and a pretty competent menu it is too. There's a good choice between vegetarian, fish and meat dishes - and the mixed grill I ordered was well cooked and attractively presented, with side salad, apple sauce and fries. The portions are generous, which actually means that we were pretty full when it came to dessert - so a cheaper 2 course option would be an attractive in my view. However, Humphrey's is undeniably a very good place to visit - the night time lighting was atmospheric, it had a pleasant, busy buzz about it, and the staff were friendly; although it was quite full, there were no delays in obtaining service. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this restaurant the food was gorgeous and the place was great. It was reasonably priced for such a great place too and very handy for us as we were just staying up the road. We will definitely go back next time we visit Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lively, friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Humphreys has a limited choice of meals but totally changes its menu every so often (monthly I think).
Humphreys limited choice is because they have chosen to go down the Quality over Quantity route.
And Quality they definitely have.
The food is excellent, the waiters/waitresses are fast efficient & very friendly.
So good is Humphreys, we make it a point to visit everytime we are in Amsterdam (7th visit).
The very best part of Humphreys is the atmosphere, Humphreys is incredibly lively.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humphrey's Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Humphrey's Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing