We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant in Amsterdam”
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Himalayan Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,749 of 3,897 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dear guests,We warmly welcome you in the Himalayan Kitchen restaurant. Our restaurant has been named after the highest mountains in the world.The Nepali and Indian kitchen relies on the age-old art of mixing herbs and spices. Just as ancient are the strict preparation criteria that vary according to climate, products available in a certain region, religion, and culture.Besides the written and unwritten laws of the Nepali and Indian kitchen we try to also let you encounter the unique taste of our own kitchen. We developed this taste over the years we have already been working in Amsterdam. Our chef cook has an exceptional culinary talent and uses fresh ingredients, unique and refined spice combinations, and an impeccable preparation manner to provide you with a freshly-prepared meal that.You can indicate your desired spice level and our cooks will be sure that the dishes are prepared accordingly.We do everything to accommodate your wishes, and we hope that you will feel at home here and enjoy your meal.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

"Himalayan Kitchen" ticks all boxes. The food is amazing with super fresh ingredients (I fell in love with a dish called Chhoyala which is marinated lamb or chicken with special spices and fried with garlic, ginger and cumin served with typical Nepalese beaten rice), the service is warm and welcoming (brother and sister run the place with lots of love and passion - I also like their sense of humour), their wines are great and the restaurant itself is a place to relax and feel at home from the very minute you get there. Lovely people, gorgeous food and very nice drinks. A must for everyone visiting Amsterdam. Take tram 7 or 17, get off at Ten Katestraat, look for number 45 and find out for yourself. An unforgettable experience! My wife and I love this place! Thank you for taking such good care of us!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food ever!!! ”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We came quite late and they were about to close, but they were so welcoming and serviceminded and kept open for only me and my boyfriend. The food was SO fresh and delicious - best butter chicken in my life!!! Nan was freshly made as well, and we enjoyed the fiod in their personal restaurant. Indian food in Amsterdam? Go here!!!! You will not regret :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Solungen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I recently visited Amsterdam with my wife and we were looking for a warm filling meal somewhere close to where we were staying. We arrived on a Sunday and were drawn to the small intimate crowd dining at this establishment. We walked in out of the summer evening and were graciously greeted and seated. The meal we ordered was enough for two so we indulged on delicious appetizers. I also had a Cobra beer. Delicious! The service was top notch as we were treated to a 3 course meal for under 30 euros. I kid you not we tried a nice diverse array of foods in Amsterdam but this restaurant spoke to us. WE WENT Back 3 times that week!!!!!!!!! Just because I had to try different dishes. Amsterdam had some great restaurants but this is easily one of the best. Feels like a home cooked meal. We were lucky enough to enjoy the World Cup with them one evening as well. Everyone else in the country was at a bar. We were here enjoying a wonderful meal and watching the game with them. Very warm people and great cooks. I can't recommend enough. Thanks for taking care of us and We Will Be back!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice experience with Indian cuisine!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The ambience was taking me back home! Food was very good. A friendly service makes you very welcome!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SivaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great authentic Nepalese food!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a lovely dinner here yesterday. The food was just like it would taste in Nepal and also the prices aren't high at all. The staff was superfriendly. I would definately recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing