We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, strange policy”
Review of Umami Amsterdam - CLOSED

Umami Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, strange policy”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We went there with a group of 5 people and had a wonderful dinner. The food was excellent and the location made us feel good. What I did not like is the policy of this restaurant:
- some tables are only available with reservations even if they are not booked for an evening!?
- you need to decide for one table if all people take a menu offer or order a la carte (because the guests are in principle cheating).

Even though the waiters tried to be polite and explain all policy lines rather well, I do not like to be treated like this. I want to choose the options according to my preferences and not according to the policy line of the restaurant. That's why I do not give so many stars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good concept”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Good concept, nice food and good prices. Good concept, nice food and good prices. Good concept, nice food and good prices. Good concept, nice food and good prices. Good concept, nice food and good prices.

Helpful?
Thank thpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun concept, good food, communication difficult”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Enjoyed the variety and quality of the food. The concept of how many to order and how the menu correlates to the choices you have to write down is not clear to a novice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 92JeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice fusion kitchen”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We we're looking for a good sushi restaurant while staying in Amsterdam, and ended up at Umami. The sushi here wasn't actually that good, but we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu card offering many other Asian and fusion dishes. The concept is that you assemble a four course dinner, with two dishes per course, for €25. You can choose from a wide range of Asian or fusion dishes, ranging from fish to meat or vegan. The dishes themselves aren't that big, but with four courses you can generally eat your fill.
The food was quite good, but not excellent. You could taste that not all dishes were equally as fresh, a lot were probably prepared in advance and came out refrigeration. Understandably because of the large menu card. On the positive side, the dishes were served quickly. There was a rather small but excellent selection of wines.
The staff was friendly and polite, but the explanation of the concept was rattled of too quickly. Finished dishes were taken away a bit too quickly to our liking. On request, they offered additional bread free of charge.
The entrance hall of the restaurant looks rather kitsch, but there is a big lounge-style room in the back with comfortable booths and tables, and a nice, relaxed atmosphere.
Wrapping it up: if you are just looking for excellent sushi or other Asian specialties, there are better places than this. But if you want to try a wide range of Asian and fusion dishes for a very sharp price and in a relaxed atmosphere, this place is definitely worth trying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0annesL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion Tapas”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were given the recommendation by friends who had been "bounced" by another restaurant and ended up here by accident. They loved it. After walking through the rather kitsch front part of the restaurant, we emerged into a very nice area at the back. The idea is that for Euro 25 you get a list of oriental fusion type "tapas". You mark off two each. Eat them. Then two more. Theoretically until 4 rounds (but we were told you can go on if you wish). After our 4 rounds (8 dishes each) we were pretty full. The dishes are high quality "tasters" and very good. And they arrive quickly. Our waiter was very attentive and talked to us about the wines he was suggesting - not expensive in my opinion. We very much liked it.Recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshiremanBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing