We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i'd tried the breakfast”

The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: BREAKFAST/LUNCH/BRUNCH: Not to brag, but we have what could possibly be the best Eggs Benedict in town. Try us! Also, our flammkuchen is to die for. DINNER: A la Carte or a 3-course menu for just 36 euro per person. Pair your dinner with wine specially sourced from our amazing sommelier and you have yourself a perfect night out. The Lobby: a unique location in Hotel V Nesplein where Amsterdammers and internationals can meet and converge, featuring a restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner), a gorgeous open wood fireplace, a terrace overlooking the Nes square, and a small stage for events. The emphasis is on high quality dishes and drinks served in a unpretentious manner by funky staff who want to make your stay memorable.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish i'd tried the breakfast”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

i had read a review of this resturant in a newspaper as one of the places to eat and drink. so i emailed and made a reservatation. It has an excellent well stocked bar and a great look with the staff very attentive to my wishes. Although i did find the menu not to my taste with a few random choices. But what i did have to eat was definately worth going. Plus i enjoyed a very nice bottle of German wine which defo hit the spot. Very enjoyable. Looking at their breakfast menu i really wished i had tried it out, but i don't think i would be able to find the place again even with Sat-nav. Even the taxi driver struggled to find it, but that just seemed to make it all the more exclusive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 50countries2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    245
    27
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“friendly, accomodating and great food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I ate here twice, once on a previous trip and then again recently. I would highly recommend the food, the ambience, and the friendliness of the staff and their service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OMG, I've found a new hangout in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I took a coworker to my fav Amsterdam wine bar the other day, Bubbles & Wine located on the Nes street, known as the "theater district" in town. But don't have images of Times Square, this is a small and narrow old street hidden off the main roads but easy to find. After wine, my coworker took me to her fav place, The Lobby Bar which is located in the...lobby!..of the Hotel V

This is one of those RARE times that I can vote EXCELLENT for a restaurant!!

Inside the lobby we sat initially in the "library area" on a comfy couch and next to a fireplace which will be a killer to cozy up to this winter. But, there was an outside seating area set up on the terrace and it was too gorgeous of a day to sit indoors. Our waiter was Daniel, who was super cute and very friendly and took time to sit down and joke and laugh with us, despite being very busy. In fact, all the staff are very nice and welcoming! Off the food menu, I ordered a "Flammkuchen" which is somewhat like a pizza from Alsace, France...also known as Tarte Flambee because it's cooked in a wood fired oven, which the Lobby Bar has. ABSOLUTELY delicious, and only 10 euros! Fantastic service, great ambiance and good food...GEZELLIG!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Lobby Restaurant at HotelV was one of the best dinners I had while visiting Amsterdam. Good food, moderately priced in a great setting made for a fun evening. Decor is nice, trendy setting in a new hip hotel. Put it on your list while visting Amsterdam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HighFlyerNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We came across this restaurant as it was close to our hotel. It is located in a nice square; the weather was good on that day and we sat outside although the decoration inside the restaurant seemed very good. We had a burger and a pizza, both nicely cooked. The service was ok but not extremely attentive. Overall a good experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Lobby Nesplein Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing